We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent 4 nights here with a couple of friends celebrating my Birthday, and it proved a great base for touring. Having hired a car for trips out to the Golden Circle and the like, there is convenient parking, and the location meant we could walk to most of the best restaurants in Reykjavik.

The bar is lively, and I understand the food is good, though we didn't eat here, other then the Breakfast buffet, which was superb. There was live music one evening which was entertaining, but not disturbing when we went to bed.

I'd go for a superior room next time, which gives that little bit of extra space. Whilst the view from the window was not what we expected (see photo), it proved fascinating to see how quickly a huge trawler can be repainted!

...and an unexpected bonus was that the wifi is now free, Highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a Marina View, but not in the centre of the hotel, as that's where the dry dock appears...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_Anderson_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,093)
There are newer reviews for Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,396 - 1,402 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Loved this hotel in the old harbour in Reykjavic, close to lots of restaurants. The breakfast buffet had something for everyone and the bar in the evenings was very lively. My friend and I had booked a twin room which the receptionist said was unavailable but offered us a double and a single room free of charge! That was fine with us and both rooms were very comfortable.
I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWH256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here over a four night period and it was comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast was a real treat, they could extend serving beyond 10:00am at weekends mind you. Bar /restaurant area is busy and friendly too.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank LynneH880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel is a great base and is situated by the Harbour in Reykjavic. Great for the town which is literally 5 to 10 minutes walk. There are lots of good places nearby to eat in, but everything is slightly pricier than in the UK. It is close to all the tourist attractions in Reykjavic (Church, City Pond, Museums, Harbour, Whale watching and lots of other excursions from the Harbour, music Hall, shops). It is very clean with a daily maid service. Wi Fi is free. We stayed in an attic room which was compact but very comfortable (2 single beds together). Looking around the other places in Reykjavic this seemed to be the norm. There are no wardrobes or cupboards to hang your clothes up in (just a couple of hooks), so it is basically 2 small shelves or living out of your suitcase (we didn't find this a problem). If you like a cup of tea in the morning you will need to bring a travel kettle and cups. There is a supermarket not too far away to buy some bits. The hotel staff were very friendly and will answer any questions and give advice on what to do and see. I would definitely recommend this hotel if staying in Iceland. You also get discounts in some nearby restaurants and the Whale Watching if you mention that this is your hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor with the Marina View - but sometimes when ships are in it does block the view a bit.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tricia04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from our stay. Really enjoyed the hotel but the only drawback was that we were in a room facing the street. We didn't find the street too loud at nighttime but when we tried to take a nap the morning we got there it was very loud!! I asked to switch rooms but they said they were full, which I didn't 100# believe. Overall a really nice place, just request a room facing the water.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mengiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend at the end of January. Pros: clean, modern, great location, terrific lobby bar and a nice breakfast. Cons: rooms very small, harbor view not all it's cracked up to be (it's really a shipyard), the great bar is incredibly crowded and pretty noisy on the weekends. As we've left our 30s behind we'll probably try the Borg or the Radisson next time.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Marina and it exceeded our expectations. The decor of the hotel is mid century modern with lots of color. Our room on the third floor (330) was immaculate, very comfortable, and faced the harbor. The furnishing are very much Scandinavian style. The bed was very comfortable and the super large shower head was a treat! The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Best breakfast I have ever had!!. A huge array of food, from fruits, many different freshly baked breads, jams, oatmeal, Skyr (Icelandic yogurt), boiled eggs, quiche, salmon, vegetables, pastries and very good coffee. The Marina offers free Wi-Fi and parking, and the location is excellent – most amenities are an easy walk.

The bar in the hotel, the Slippbarinn, is a very popular local bar and it is often busy, especially on Friday nights. We ate dinner twice and had many great drinks at the Slippbarinn. Often we came back from day tours in the evening and tired, but it was nice to be able to just go downstairs and have a few drinks and not have to walk anywhere to have a great time. The staff at the restaurant/bar is also very friendly and very customer oriented. Great experience!!

The only wish would be to have at least a small dresser with drawers to be able to put some clothes away.

I would highly recommend and return to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina.

Room Tip: We upgraded our room to deluxe. We were told that the rooms with a balcony are much smaller and the...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank disalvoclaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,711 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $171 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing