We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quirky hotel that puts a smile on your face...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A quirky hotel that puts a smile on your face...”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great styling, original and humouristic. A good way to start stay in Reykjavik. Service = good, beds were on the small side but comfortable. The architect and stylist have really grasped the Marina feel in a modern quirky styling that is comfortable yet full of authentic details. Well done!

Room Tip: Get a Marina side room for great views of the iced mountains across the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWJanssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    767
    165
    49
    33
See reviews for
323
1,033
116
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was our stop after our 33 hour commute from Melbourne, Australia. Exhausted and jet lagged, walking in to this awesome reception was refreshing and just plain cool. The food was brilliant, the bar was funky and the people were perfect. At first we thought that the standard room was small, but that was our experience of the whole country so that's not an issue, but if you are used to bigger rooms, the standard may not be for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenFromMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We checked in very late but had a warm English speaking welcome. The hotel is quirky but nice quirky. The rooms are quite basic but they serve their purpose and the location on the Waterfront and easy walking distance of the town was very good.
The only complaint I have was the Breakfast .. it is almost the same every day .. after teh third day we went out for breakfast to the Volcano café opposite .. highly recommended for a visit and also to see the film 0n Volcanoes

Room Tip: dont book a room over teh bar at week ends it gets very busy and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gryphon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the hotel in December 2013 in an attic room with a balcony over looking the ship yard. Hotel has a fun, modern design with quirky touches throughout. Staff were very friendly and helpful when we needed anything. The bar in the hotel is a great place to spend an evening, and seems very popular with the locals - it was extremely busy on the night we were there. It's also expensive, even by Iceland standards - about $26 for a cocktail. Breakfast was wonderful, more European style than American, with plenty of sliced meat, fish, cheese and yoghurt, with eggs and potatoes if you wanted something hot. Rooms are a little on the small side, but very well laid out so they didn't feel cramped. Bed was very comfortable, but as is common in many European countries, the queen bed was 2 twin beds pushed together. The door to the bathroom was just a sliding frosted glass door which doesn't completely close, so you don't have complete privacy, which some people might find a little uncomfortable. Although the marina is a working port and boats are being actively worked on, we were never disturbed by the noise. Main shopping street and bars are about a 5 minute walk away, close enough to be in the middle of everything but far enough away to not be disturbed by the late night revelry.

Room Tip: Attic rooms have a balcony over looking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nj_traveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Quirky hotel with plenty to offer all year round. The rooms on the side of the hotel next to the road are a little noisy. The harbour location is great for town, restaurants, shopping and boat trips. There is some off-road parking. All round highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request a harbour side room not a roadside room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan_Harrison25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I went to iceland for a week during the christmas week and this was the hotel we stayed at.
A family of 6 sharing a room has never been more comfortable. The bed was extremely spacious despite it being a buck bed. The sofa was pulled out for the additional 2 people, despite being a sofa bed….. It felt like any other bed, it was comfortable and extremely soft.

The rooms aren't very big though and the bathroom was lacking privacy.
The bathroom has a slide glass door with a hole as a handle. The hole made extremely uncomfortable as you can see through it, as a result we inserted a towel to prevent discomfort. Nevertheless, the glass sliding panel was not soundproof and had no lock. Overall, no privacy!

The lobby was warm and comfortable, interior design is different and unique as everything was made from scraps which gave a warm and eco-friendly and also modern environment. I personally love the lobby.

Wifi is free on the ground floor, accessible for all rooms on the GF and also the lobby.

The restaurant is limited in food options and is a bit expensive so I don't recommend the food there but there is an amazing hot dog shop located 3 minute walk from the hotel and town centre 8minutes walk away.
Its near the harbour…. and a 1 minute walk to the whale and puffin watching centre.

Service is pretty average, nothing special other than room service.

Room Tip: Ground floor because there is free wifi. Everyone needs wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanciabuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights just before Christmas, chosen, as always because of good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. We had two rooms on the third floor facing the Marina, staring straight at an enormous trawler in dry dock, being repainted. We never heard a thing despite all the heavy equipment and in fact found it very interesting to see the work progress during our stay! The Hotel, although not the prettiest outside is very modern and quirky inside, warm and welcoming.The reception staff were friendly and helpful at all times. I have never stayed at a hotel where the bar and restaurant were so popular with the locals. It was packed every night and this added a real vibrancy to the hotel, without disturbing the calm and quiet of the bedrooms. Breakfast was very good value and always fresh with a large choice, although it was exactly the same every day.
Wi Fi was free downstairs, but charged for in the rooms, we found however that you could still pick up the free connection in our room, result!
The bedrooms were larger than we were expecting, with a modern wharehouse/industrial style finish. Plenty of wardrobe space and drawers. The beds were particularly comfortable and the shower room (separated by a full height frosted glass screen) was large and with a nice powerful shower. There were no tea making facilities but in reception was a 24hour kiosk next to the reception desk with a tea/ coffee/hot chocolate machine, sandwiches and chocolate bars (chargeable) but very useful. A nice touch was the mini bag hanging on the outside of your door every morning with a little gift and a leaflet describing a different Yule Lad, which are mythical Icelandic characters, a lovely tradition. The hotel also has a sense of humour, with many signs and sayings dotted throughout the hotel together with a few statues (see photos)
The Hotel is probably one of the best located in Reykjavik, just a few minutes from the shopping areas, almost adjacent to loads of local restaurants. The amazing waterside theatre/ conference centre is a few hundred yards.
We would thoroughly recommend Reykjavik and the Marina Hotel. Had we managed to see the Northern Lights and a whale or two, our stay would have been perfect!

Room Tip: We were told the only way to have a twin room for our sons was to upgrade to a deluxe room. We didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56RDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
986 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,556 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,139 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing