We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights from Sat 16 to Tues 19 Nov 2013. The hotel is a converted paint factory and is decorated in a modern/funky manner. This creates a stylish yet relaxed environment. Our room had great views over the marina. The room was incredibly clean and the modern/funky theme of the hotel continued into our room. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was incredibly good and I would highly recommend eating here. We had dinner in the bar area one night and lunch. On both occasions our food was fantastic and the waiting staff were incredibly friendly even helping us to find attractions on our map during our dinner. We stayed in Iceland for 10 days and the breakfasts we had at this hotel were the best both due to the variety and quality of the food available at breakfast. The hotel is conveniently located. The whale watching tours leave from right outside the hotel and it takes 2/5mins to walk to the main streets. This hotel is great value for the quality of the rooms, food, decoration and location. If you are heading to Reykjavik, I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crawford289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,090)
There are newer reviews for Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,469 - 1,475 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

My spouse had to go to Iceland for business and I tagged along. We made a long weekend of it, staying at the Marina Hotel. It looks very basic on the outside but inside it something special. We were there in November, the lobby and the adjacent Slippbarrin were warm and welcoming and seems to be quite a gathering spot for locals. The room was a bit on the compact side for a double, but I have to say it was so very thoughtful laid out that it worked perfectly. The breakfast spread was wonderful and a great way to start the day. We ate at Slippbarrin a couple of times and met other for drinks there and everything was delicious (especially the flatbreads!). The staff from housekeeping, to the waitstaff to the front desk were phenomenal, not a negative experience amongst the lot. I would recommend a stay here for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed late novemeber and arrived 1am so our room was merely a place to lay our heads. We were room 233 and I have to say we were very disappointed. It was less than a box room with exposed concrete and artex, next to a busy road with beaming street lights. It was certainly less trendy than the photos implied. We barely enough room to maneuver and there is no storage in this minimalists dream. However I have rated this hotel highly because of there extremely accommodating nature. They moved our room on first request and we upgraded to a beautiful balcony room that gazed across the marina to the ice capped mountains. Simply beautiful.
The hotel is very fun, quirky and trendy with lovely communial areas and a great central location to everything in the city's centre. The bar and restaurant are expensive, breakfast is dear and since it wasn't included we went else where after the first morning.
Overall though it's a wonderful hotel with helpful and informative friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I love this hotel! I've stayed here on two different trips to Reykjavik. Ask for a room on the marina side - it's a better view and a bit quieter. The rooms are small, but they're nice and new. You should be out exploring the city and not sitting in your room anyway. The staff are helpful and friendly, and the breakfast buffet is wonderful. I love the bar as well - the Slippbarinn - it's very hip and a great place to relax and have a drink.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the marina side on the highest floor possible - fun marina views!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Booked this according to the central location and good reviews. Also for the price which, although still rather high, was lower than those for other well-reviewed good hotels. It is a very hip hotel, very quirky but still comfortable. However the rooms are extremely small for 2 people to stay in. And the bathroom could be an issue if you are a privacy freak - there is only a frosted-glass sliding door, and it's literally right next to the bed. Lastly, not much storage space in the room, this is maybe the only trip I've taken in which I didn't fully unpack my luggage and just pulled items out of it as I needed them. There was only space for one person to fully unpack, so keep these types of expectations realistic. But for a short stay we were able to adjust. Other than that, the rooms were extremely quiet and sleep was never an issue. We stayed in an attic room with a balcony, overlooking the street. Realistically, since it's so cold in the winter you don't really use the balcony, unless you're a smoker, but it was still nice - we ended up using it as a refrigerator for our food items!

The hotel has a great bar scene - we were surprised to see each day how many non-guests of the hotel came there in the evenings just for the bar. It has a great atmosphere and even live music on some nights. The staff at the restaurant and bar are top-notch. Also, the reception staff was very helpful at organizing transfers and restaurant reservations, etc. Finally, the location was great, only a 5-minute walk from the downtown area.

Overall, I do recommend this hotel, but it can be pricey, so maybe a more budget hotel would be better for some of you. However, I like comfort, cleanliness and a good location, so this hotel was definitely suitable for that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArzuS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

What a great hotel this is! Looks crap from the outside, however inside, from the quirky decor to the staff, it's ace. The reception staff are great, helpful, friendly and have a cracking sense of humour.
There is a fire pit type fire with a wooden figure sat adjacent. It's a great place to hang out, with a good bar. It's pricey but most bars in Reykjavik are! It's used a lot by the locals. When we visited the air waves music festival was on. It was very busy as some bands were appearing. One in particular was good, downloaded them off iTunes!
The whale watching offices face the hotel, only a 100m or so away. We booked the northern lights tour with icelandair. They collected us from the hotel reception area by minibus, make sure you have your vouchers with you though, as you change to another operator at the local bus station who do not have a record of your booking. We were extremely lucky, we saw the lights starting at about 9.30 ish in a somewhat subdued way but at midnight they were extremely good. Wear good thermals etc. we wore our ski gear, but you do get cold. As you stand outside in anticipation of the show , worth it!
We didn't eat in the hotel as we were with friends and we wanted to see Reykjavik , which is in easy walking distance of the hotel.
Reykjavik is a great city, the people are firiendly with a great British type quirky humour, we had some good laughs with the locals. Go, use this hotel it's brill!

Room Tip: Facing the marina!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steveandgayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I can see what they were going for, hip, stylish, boutique-y etc, but it didn't quite work out. It ended up being kind of pokey, expensive to sleep in and over-priced to drink at. The room also suffered from having an irritating fan "wooooooom"'ing all night, plus a radiator that came on at ~2000 degree C at 4am. Worst night sleep in Iceland.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silospen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,708 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $171 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing