We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We where 5 boys staying in the hotel for three days. The service in the hotel was absolutely in top, the bartender in the crowded bar where very professional and served really nice cocktails. The Breakfast is one of the best i ever tried, it was a very delicate one with something i never seen in a hotel before. I noticed the Chef where french and he knew what he was doing. The hotel is near the Centre and near to all the good restaurants reykjavik can offer. Its properly not the last time I go to Island and of course I will stay at Hotel Marina again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nesbokaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    768
    165
    49
    33
See reviews for
324
1,033
116
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Where many Icelandic hotels are decorated in somber tones of black, gray and white, Marina's decor is warm, nautical and unexpected. (A coffee table made of two painted radiators?) Breakfast (not included and expensive) is worth every cent. Other meals were excellent. It's a converted paint factory on the edge of downtown. Marina views are not romantic but industrial. Caveat: many double rooms have one box spring and two mattresses, so if you aren't traveling with someone you know well, it's very cozy. Also, the bathrooms are miniscule.

With the exception of one young man, staff was uniformly courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey, NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in February 2013. I'm pretty big on reading up on reviews for wherever I travel, and so I knew exactly what to expect when booking here. Yes the rooms are small but I think that's how it is for all European travel for the most part. The breakfast was AMAZING! Having it just downstairs every morning, albeit not included in the price, was key! The location was good but if I had to do it again we would probably stay somewere moreso in the middle of Reykjavik nightlife/ shopping, especially if we go again in the winter. The rooms were quirky, decor was quirky, and yes, the bathrooms didn't leave much room for privacy but again we were traveling husband and wife and thus didn't mind.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcjc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I wasn't quite sure what to expect in Iceland but the Marina Icelander Hotel was great. It's new, clean and a little "edgy" as evidenced by the wooden carving in the lobby! The staff was helpful, well informed and very nice! There were 10 of us--ages 3-69 and there was something for everyone and were no problems whatever. Part of our group really enjoyed happy hour the hotel! The location was good and we were able to walk to good restaurants and shops!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in 9 different hotels during our trip to Iceland. This was our last hotel. Room was clean but very small, not a lot of rooms to maneuver luggages. Bathroom has rain shower overhead. Hotel parking lot was also small and cannot accommodate many cars. Location was convenient walking distant to restaurants and downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brigdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Went to restaurant/bar on two occasions. Both times the staff was rude. Asked for Bloody Mary listed on menu and told "we don't have that". Bartender rolled her eyes and walked away. Refused to seat us 10 minutes early for lunch. Would not go back again!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lpalmer628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The bathrooms here have translucent/partly transparent doors so there is no privacy at all if you are sharing the room with someone and want to use the bathroom. The doors don't even close all the way. If you don't like watching your partner go to the bathroom, don't stay here. Plus, if one person turns on the bathroom light during the night, the whole room lights up, waking up whoever is sharing the room. This is terrible and I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dny2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
987 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,558 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,141 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing