We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights . Loved the hotel , small but very quirky rooms. Very comfy bed , spotlessly clean, knowledgable and helpful staff. try to get a balcony room as the views are spectacular anyway but we watched the Northern Lights at 11pm on our last night - excellent end to a brilliant stay in a fabulous city

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catt100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    996
    778
    168
    49
    34
See reviews for
330
1,042
119
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just got back from Iceland and stayed here for 3 days total- 2 days when we first arrived in Reykjavik and 1 day driving from north to south.

The first 2 daya we were in a room on the street side which was pretty small and a little loud on weekday mornings if you're a light sleeper. When we checked out, we asked for a room on the opposite, water side of the hotel when we returned. We're glad we did! The 2nd room we had was quite a bit larger (a wheelchair accessible room with sliding glass doors into the good-sized bathroom). The room looked out to the ships on the drydock, which was pretty cool.

The hotel is still fairly new, so is very clean and in good shape. The design of the entire hotel is awesome- marine- insprired but modern with quirky details. I loved it. We only had drinks in the bar. They were ok, a little overpriced and slightly pretentious but it was always packed with locals so that means something. We had the breakfast buffet one morning which was the best of our Iceland trip- varied and interesting (beet juice shots!).

Service was really helpful and friendly.

Location is close to downtown- a short 5 min. walk- but there are a few good restaurants right in the 'hood if you feel like staying close.

We had a rental car and there is free parking in the hotel's small lot. We didn't have a problem getting a spot though were told spaces are harder to come by during happy hour (see about the locals in the bar above).

I'd absolutely come back to this hotel!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MegBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you like something a bit different, this is the place!

The room was clean and bright but only a shower rather than a bath & shower.

Walking distance to downtown and really busy / buzzing at night in the bar - the whole place was packed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 rooms for 4 nights (1 for my wife and I, one for our 2 daughters)

We all loved this hotel - great location - the dry dock right outside the main doors was an interesting plus for us. The quirky interior, excellent reception staff, superb breakfast buffet all added to our amazing stay in Iceland.

Ok, the rooms are not large, but on holiday I want a decent bed and great shower more than room to walk around in - and that's exactly what we got. The wifi worked a treat (at an additional cost) and allowed me to load my daily photos straight to drop box.

As others have said, the bathrooms are not exactly the most private, but again this didn't concern us.

My family loved this hotel - so different to a multi-national chain that all look the same irrespective of what city/country you are in

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fearless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Clean, modern and warm. Right in the centre of town. Rooms are small but adequate. Bit noisy on the road side but looked interesting on the other side. If you wanted a mountain view you might have been disappointed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hobbitsoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel for a weekend break in March. The staff were brilliant, the breakfast really was second to none and the hotel itself was perfect and immaculately clean. The bar and food in the hotel were fantastic too.The Hotel bar and restaurant get busy at the weekends, but that just adds to the atmosphe and demonstrates how popular this place is with other travellers and locals. The location was exactly what we wanted, a short stroll from the shops, bars and restaurants. The rooms were modern and fresh, and again throughout the hotel, immaculate. The trip to Iceland was meant to be a once in a lifetime trip to see the Northern Lights. Nope, I intend to come back as soon as possible, and will be in the Marina Hotel again.

Room Tip: We asked for a Harbour/Marina view, and would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickM372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Enteribg the hotel friday afternoon 5th of april around 1700 in the afternoon i was meet by an amazing crowd of locals hanging out in the hotels bars , resturant and coffe places in a very modern deciration. Staff is quick and you enter your room within minutes. The rooms are stylish and clean and breakfast is very good. Showerroom could be a bit bigger but its a small detail. 3 min walk to doentown you are close to resturants like sjavardgrillid - a top class resturant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
999 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,596 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing