We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel in best location”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Fab hotel, only been open since April 2012. So you can still smell the newness of the place. Hotel was in good location. It had quirky interior which we liked. The bar had a happy hour 4pm - 6pm which was good value. We ate at the Slippbarin & the food was fab. Not a big menu but the quality was there. We had a room overlooking the dock, which was nice and quiet. Staff were ever so helpful, would stay again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank courtod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    759
    160
    49
    32
See reviews for
318
1,024
115
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
n ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel was a prefect base for our stay in reykjavik. We felt at home as soon as we entered the hotel. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. All areas were spotlessly clean. The location is a 5 minute walk from the main shopping area. We will definitely return for another stay in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank normanNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great hotel overall, close to the centre of Reykjavik and all it's sights and eateries. I loved the funky lobby and bar area which get packed in the evenings with trendy after work drinkers and diners.

Our room was comfortable but personally I did not like the glass sliding door to the bathroom which really provided no privacy as it didn't even seal closed - just pulled across. This might not bother everyone but it bothered me. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room which was a pain in the mornings if you like a caffeine shot in bed before getting up and dressed. The bed was very comfortable with the Scandinavian approach of individual duvets on joined single mattresses.

Breakfast was a delicious buffet offering plenty of choice. We never ate dinner in the hotel as we preferred to explore the city. The staff were very helpful.

Visit the Harpa Concert Hall for some funky architecture and go up the bell-tower in the church for a great view of the city. We also did a glacier walk, the Blue Lagoon and the golden circle tour. Overall, a fantastic trip!

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side do experience traffic noise. I expect those on the dock side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

When we arrived early Friday evening the hotel was buzzing and had a great vibe to it. A former paint factory, its decor reflected this with an eclectic mix of furnishings. Rooms are small but perfectly big enough, clean and comfortable. Our room was on the road side which is quite noisy but earplugs soon sort that out! There was a great choice for breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had duty free wine and were able to get an ice bucket, ice and glasses from the bar without any bother.
The location is great with just a short walk to restaurants, bars and shops. The Icelandic fish and chip shop was excellent and quite reasonable. Geysir bistro was also very good. The Laundromat cafe had a nice atmosphere and a good place to people watch. Get a window table between 5-6pm and watch as everyone rushes to the liquor store opposite.
We did a Golden Circle trip and snow mobiling with Mountain Taxis which was fantastic. The Volcano House was worth a visit for a short film about the volcanic eruptions. We also enyoyed the Blue Lagoon. We were unlucky with the northern lights and only saw a small showing but it didn't affect our trip to Iceland as we had a great time.
Would thoroughly recommend Iceland and Reykjavik Marina Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We spent five nights at the Icelandair Hotel Reyjkavik Marina on a package deal from the airline.

Good points:
Great design, really quirky and interesting. Didn't feel like a sterile business hotel. Loved the big ships in dry dock right outside the door!
Exceptionally friendly and helpful reception staff.
Excellent location, 5 min walk from bars and restaurants, 10 min from Harpa.
Wonderful breakfast, lots of choice for vegetarians, really filling.
Good, proper hairdryer.
Plenty of plug sockets.
Good food in bar/restaurant.

Bad points:
Our room faced the street and there was quite a lot of traffic noise. Blinds and thin curtains let in light from streetlamps/headlights.
A strange thing to say in Iceland but the hotel was really hot, both in public areas and in our room. It was particularly bad at breakfast. We turned off the radiator in our room but the hot water pipe running down the wall and a particularly hot light kept the room above a comfortable temperature.
We've stayed in lots of hotels with glass dividing walls between the room and the bathroom and not found it weird at all, but the door's usually been on the entry "corridor" side of the room rather than the bed side. At the Marina it's on the bed side, you do need to be *very* good friends with whoever you're sharing with! Shower just had a shower curtain - combined with the sliding glass door letting in a draught this meant that the shower curtain kept sticking to me.
There isn't really anywhere to put stuff in the room, just shelves, and no safe. Our room was a bit of a tip most of the time (sorry to the housekeeping staff).
And finally - in a cool hotel like this, it's not good that we had to pay for wifi, and the wifi itself was very slow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights b&b with 2 kids. Booked 6 bedded bunk room for a bit of extra chilling space. Perfect ground floor setting right next to reception so kids cld come and go as they pleased. Beds and bedding are soooo comfy and roomy.
Families should be aware top bunk is high. Was ok for 13yr but 7 yr struggled a bit and chose take dble bed settee as his instead. Again very comfy and big. Bathroom was fine dunno wot the fuss is about! Sliding deeply frosted door - so what!
Breakfast really good, desserts lovely, coffee good, staff friendly and so helpful when it came to trips and sights.
Most importance to us was situation - marina was perfect for short trip as in the harbour right on the edge of old town with lots if nice restaurants and cafes just minutes walk away including trip advisor fave hot dog stand - kids fave meal of the trip and cheap!
Would definitely recommend to those who can do quirky - a few traditionalists struggled with the setting 10 ft from working dockyard but we loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have not yet stayed at this hotel but we have a 3 night stay booked with them. By an of chance I wrote to them to request a quiet room as I am pregnant. They have responded to say that despite my holiday being booked since December (it is February now) they don't have room for me due overbooking and they rebooked our stay to Hilton which is on the other site of town.
I'm shocked.
Hana, Brighton, UK

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hana570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,525 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TravelUp, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing