We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Nearby Hotels
$427
$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$267
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
City Center Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$255
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$228
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CenterHotel Klopp(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$202
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$209
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlemmur Square(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$182
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$321
$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$327
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$568
$493
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,334)
Filter reviews
2,334 results
Traveler rating
1,133
880
215
60
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,133
880
215
60
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquirky hoteldry dockattic roompaint factorymarina sideworking harboursliding glassfire pitfun hotelwhale watchingrooms are smallnorthern lightsbreakfast buffethappy hourold harbourloved this hotelskyr
Filter
Updating list...
1,875 - 1,880 of 2,334 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights b&b with 2 kids. Booked 6 bedded bunk room for a bit of extra chilling space. Perfect ground floor setting right next to reception so kids cld come and go as they pleased. Beds and bedding are soooo comfy and roomy.
Families should be aware top bunk is high. Was ok for 13yr but 7 yr struggled a bit and chose take dble bed settee as his instead. Again very comfy and big. Bathroom was fine dunno wot the fuss is about! Sliding deeply frosted door - so what!
Breakfast really good, desserts lovely, coffee good, staff friendly and so helpful when it came to trips and sights.
Most importance to us was situation - marina was perfect for short trip as in the harbour right on the edge of old town with lots if nice restaurants and cafes just minutes walk away including trip advisor fave hot dog stand - kids fave meal of the trip and cheap!
Would definitely recommend to those who can do quirky - a few traditionalists struggled with the setting 10 ft from working dockyard but we loved it!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsbizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have not yet stayed at this hotel but we have a 3 night stay booked with them. By an of chance I wrote to them to request a quiet room as I am pregnant. They have responded to say that despite my holiday being booked since December (it is February now) they don't have room for me due overbooking and they rebooked our stay to Hilton which is on the other site of town.
I'm shocked.
Hana, Brighton, UK

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Hana570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights on a Icelandair package. Great first impression (so important), with a really friendly welcome from the reception staff on arrival. I took other reviewers advice and asked for a 4th floor room, with a harbour-view - more in hope than expectation to be honest, but I made sure to say hello in Icelandic for additional buy-in, smiled, and we got the result we were looking for. Nice room, albeit it compact, with a small balcony and great views over the busy harbour to Mount Esja and beyond. The room had a nice range of reading materials, big screen TV, and a decent bathroom (deluge shower variety). Other reviews have flagged up the love/hate (mostly hate) relationship with the opaque sliding doors on the bathroom, so there's no need to venture any further with that subject.

Beyond the room, we found breakfasts to be good (served 7am-10am), a nice (busy) bar area with a 4pm to 6pm happy hour that brings beer prices down to, or even below UK levels. Good food too, with a nice local slant.

We've previously stayed at the Hilton Nordica when visiting Reykjavik, which is a very good hotel too. The big advantage of the Icelandair Marina is it does't involve a 20-25 minute trek into town, it's very well located, with the main 101 Reykjavik attractions (shopping, bars etc.) being at most a 5-10 minutes walk. You feel close to the action.

There are some good restaurants nearby, I especially liked the atmospheric little burger bar right by the hotel (Hamborgara Bullan) and there's a decent and very popular fish and chip almost opposite.

All in all, an excellent hotel. I'll definitely stay there again. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor room, with a harbour view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crogga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed with my husband for 4 nights. Excellent location near town centre. Check-in was quick and efficient and all the staff on the desk very helpful. We upgraded to an Attic room which was well worth the extra as super view over the dry dock/marina with the snow topped mountains in the distance. Rooms are quirky but well planned. Beds and bedding very comfortable. Proper hairdryer provided (even a difuser for those with curly hair) and yes ladies a socket next a mirror! Plenty of hot water and shower soap/gel provided but take your own conditioner and body lotion. No in room safe but it is possible to have a safe (free) at reception.
The bar/lounge/restaurant area is decorated in a modern style and very unusual. This hotel is extremely popular with young locals and the cocktail bar is heaving on Friday/Saturday nights so if you like to sit quietly in the evening it is not the place for you! No separate residents bar/lounge. Also for this reason rooms on the ground/1st floor would probably be rather noisy as when we returned from our Northern Lights trip after mid night there was still a queue waiting for entry to the bar! However, if you are happy to join in you will love it!

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Attic room on the Marina side.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussyfemaleKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is one of the nicest hotels I have stopped in.

Perfect location.Worth every penny.

The beds are the comfiest bed I have ever slept in.

If your visiting Iceland I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Not worth upgrading to balcony room as you will hardly step foot on it as there is just to much to do and see that you wont be in the room apart from sleeping.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIRANDA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews