We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this as people say "quirky" hotel. Very modern with interesting decor. Staff are superb, receptionists go beyond the call of duty. Food excellent - tho breakfast gets a bit boring after three days, perhaps a change now and then?? Bar and Restaurant food is first class. The only criticism really is nowhere to put clothes, apart from cubby holes on the wall. Impossible to keep a tidy room because of this. I can see that the glass doors on the bathroom and lack of privacy could be an issue in a new relationship, but for most couples I don't see that it would be a problem. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would be a bonus too. Overall very good and would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: It is worth paying for an upgrade to a harbour view room, they are much bigger and much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaAnnEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    766
    165
    49
    33
See reviews for
322
1,033
116
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Central location, close to good restaurants. I stayed in a harbour side room which was nice and quiet. Only downfall was having to pay to use the wifi, and tea and coffee facilities in the room. Would use again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akureyri, Iceland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Excellent location (a few minutes walk from the city center), a spacious and comfortable room, an unusual view (a boatyard) and very helpful staff. Breakfast was superb. The bed was good, too. All in all, a very pleasant experience indeed - except for the staff member who knocked on my door in the morning and then barged right in! Fortunately, I was dressed :) What's the point of knocking if you can't wait for an answer? :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helgi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is great, unusual touches everywhere, each room is different. We had a room road side - road is very noisy - not good if you are a light sleeper. and after one night upgraded(paid £20 extra per night), to move to a room harbour side- we had requested a quiet room, they gave us road side. After we changed sides- found ourselves next to a noisy boiler room /air con room or something-- obviously need to state more clearly what constitutes quiet!!!!!
Breakfast lovely , good mixture.
Staff helpful.
Note Iceland is very expensive to eat/drink out - a 'standard ' bottle of wine - £45-----use the supermarket.

Room Tip: request top floor -harbour side away from lifts, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanor-mia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My Wife and I are currently staying here for a long weekend. The hotel is very new with modern, quirky design. Rooms are comfortable although it must be noted that the bathroom is separated from the room with frosted glass sliding door. The hotel staff are very helpful, friendly, and always pleased to provide local knowledge, booking restaurants, etc. The bar and restaurant are full on Friday's and Saturday's as this seems to be the place to be seen in Reykjavik. We can thoroughly recommend this hotel and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel_Havant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel has a lovely vibe to it and is located by the marina within a five minutes walk into town. For a marina I did imagine there would be some small boats bobbing around outside the front of the hotel however, this is not actually the case. What you will find is industrial sized boats parked right up to the doorstep in a dry dock (the smaller ones in the water are just off to the side). That said, it actually does not detract from the hotel itself. It is quirky with a style all of its own and it does appear to attract many of the locals here for an evening out. For the bar and restaurant people were actually queuing outside the door to get in past midnight, when it was so full inside.

The rooms are fine (think IKEA for decoration and furniture) and do have as mentioned by previous reviewers glass sliding doors in the bathroom with a small gap! There are not any wardrobes but shelving units. Towels are slightly on the small side and so that you know when packing your toiletries they only provide shampoo and soap in the room.

The breakfast was very nice and was served until 10.00 am providing a large selection of cereals, fruits, cold meats, fish, bread and some hot food as well. The restaurant was very good as well. We thought we would book in advance one morning for that evening only to be told it was full because of a music event. However, when we went to the bar for the happy hour (half price drinks) that night the staff managed to fit us in.

The hotel staff were very helpful and assisted with the booking of trips etc. They seemed to have it down to a fine art in Iceland with the bus company and tour operators running a very slick operation. They will all pick you up at your hotel and drop you off as well. With some trips, you are picked up by the smaller bus and taken to the central coach station and transferred onto the larger waiting coach. All of this is timed very well so you are never delayed.

We had a memorable trip to this country and if we returned to Iceland, we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brady33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
108 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here mid-January during an Icelandair Northern Lights City Break and loved this hotel. It was originally a paint factory so it has an industrial edge to its design with lots of quirky features that really make it stand out as something quite different. The staff were faultless in both the reception and restaurant/bar. The breakfasts (included in our package) were very "Iceland" (lots of fish) and extremely tasty making a pleasant change from the usual Western breakfast of eggs with everything. The location of the hotel is perfect, a short walk from the middle of town and close to a number of excellent restaurants. The hotel restaurant was very good but if you want to try something outside the hotel, then The Fish Company was one of the best restaurants we have ever been to - anywhere. The room we had in the hotel faced the road and was a bit small but functional, spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds. The TV reception was a bit hit and miss though with not such a smooth feed (picture kept breaking up at regular intervals). Still we didn't come to Iceland to watch TV so it wasn't an issue.

We would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Iceland and we would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: You will probably need to make a special request and/or pay more if you want a room with a harbour v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJL1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
985 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,554 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,140 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing