We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Excellent hotel in the best place in town. Very trendy restaurant with some good food and nice drinks. Our room was on the 4th floor with a balcony just in front of a ship ready to be painted. The architecture of the hotel is pleasant and minimalist. The service is excellent and the restaurant managers are professional. Great breakfast too !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,808 - 1,814 of 2,205 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is lovely. The common areas are great, really lively reception and bar area. Staff are pleasant, and the hotel is clean and tidy. The rooms are quiet small, and the bathroom is tiny (and has a glass wall & door that doesn't really allow for privacy!). However the location is great, and you don't come to Iceland to sit in your room - so all in all, I would recommend.

Room Tip: If you are on the road side of the hotel (not the marina side) ask for a high up room, as the road n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickyInWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was great, really modern, quite quirky in a good way, the staff are really friendly and helpful, the breakfast is brilliant, and the location could not be better (5 min walk from town centre). I'd advise anyone going to reykjavik to stay here. When going on day trips my wife and I saw many of the other hotels and none of them were in such a great location. A few tips:

1, the restaurant attached to it looked really good, but is incredibly popular so book well in advance to avoid dissapointment. We failed to get a reservation 2 days in advance. This is the only really annoying thing about the hotel... It has a restaurant and nice lobby, but the guests struggle to use them as they're full of locals drinking and eating all the time. No tables are kept for the hotel guests.

2, ask for a room on the docks side if you are a light sleeper as the bar can be a bit noisy on a weekend. I'm a very light sleeper, but slept like a baby in our room.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tommy102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is fantastic! It is very close to the centre of Reykjavik and has a lovely warm feel to it. The rooms are not big, but they are very well thought out and to be honest, my husband and I were more interested in exploring the wonders of Iceland than staying in our room. I would recommend a view over the harbour. I do not know if the road side would be noisy but the views of the snow capped mountains is beautiful. The breakfast is ample and the staff are very friendly and willing to help at any opportunity. There is free internet (admittedly only one computer for half an hour) but there is free WIFI throughout. Happy hour at the bar in the hotel is well worth it - £2.50 roughly a pint and same for a glass of wine. We found Reykjavik to be no more expensive than where I live now (Oxfordshire) and to be honest, there are so many bars, cafes and restaurants, you can be choosy on the prices of things. I did find main evening meals to be the most expensive of all. For those of you heading in the near future, the Christmas lights are on and look wonderful in the icy/snowy surroundings. There is a lovely Christmas shop in Bankastraeti which sells icelandic christmas decorations amongst other things which is lovely for a keep sake.

Room Tip: Views are great from the harbour side - just go for a room higher up as you might not see over the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireyBeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

What a lovely hotel.

The situation is excellent, and within easy walking distance of downtown Reykjavik, and loads of restaurants. The hotel, itself, does have a restaurant, but on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights it was packed, so an early reservation would be essential. We ate out then. On the Sunday night, however, the place was deserted, and we felt slightly foolish for having made a reservation in an empty restaurant. The food is very good, and the breakfast buffet has a wide choice, and is truly excellent.

The rooms are quite small, but very efficiently designed; this is where the IKEA bit comes in; very modern, and Scandinavian sparse, but they work. We had a room fairly high up, and on the harbour side, so noise wasn't a problem there.

The staff are very friendly, and the front desk will make restaurant reservations for you.

When we return to Reykjavik we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andres41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

First of all, the hotel is very conveniently located. Even through Reykjavik is a small city, considering the weather you don't want to walk for too long. The hotel is close to all the important hot spot. Secondly, funky, but cozy design. The ground floor and bar areas are very enjoyable. The room was small, but not claustrophobic - and with small pieces of Icelandic humor here and there, kept our mood up. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with street view and close to the bar area are the most noisy. Get a room higher up, preferabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CYVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights over the Thanksgiving break and had a great time. The price was great considering how new the hotel is and its close proximity to so many things.

Our favorite things were:
-The breakfast buffet! With how incredibly expensive eating out in Reykjavik is, it was a life saver to have a good full breakfast every morning to start the day. We especially loved the smoked salmon and the skyr yogurt with berries.
-The hotel restaurant and bar really are a hot spot for the locals to go. On a Friday night we had an hour wait to get a table. The drinks are very expensive, but the happy hour makes them cheaper and they make all sorts of unique drinks. The food is good and relativiely cheap compared to elsewhere.
-The modern atmosphere is really fun for those of us who can't afford to stay in brand new hotels in the states. The room was tiny and felt like an IKEA model, but we liked the coziness.
-We weren't sure if the internet would be free but we did get it for free and they were offering it that way for a "limited time". Not sure how long that will last but it was nice, and if they start charging there is a really nice mac in the lobby you could use for booking tours and such.
-The hotel really was close to everything. Only about a 5 minute walk to the Grayline office where most of our tours left from. Right in front of the grayline offices is a public bus stop where a few routes pass by. Theres ample bars and restaurants within 5 blocks if you can afford them.

The downsides:
-After reading reviews, we made sure to get a room on the marina side of the hotel instead of the street side. While looking at the boats was really nice, the noise level could not have been lower than on the street side. Our room was on the second floor and in close proximity to the smokers area outside the bar so the party was going on out there each night, and until the wee hours of the morning on the weekend.
- Minor issues in the room. The sink was broken and barely dribbles water. The window didn't shut all the way so there was a constant draft.

Overall for the price we got with the Icelandair package, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,883 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
CenterHotel Thingholt
#13 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $189 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing