We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern & Artistic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed for three nights here and surprisingly on our arrival at the hotel, the staff was so
helpful, coming to the carpark and guiding us where to park. Our room was facing the harbour
and the view was excellent. The room was comfortable even though not very big. Overall, the bar, lobby area , toilet are modern, artistic and lively.Walking distance to restaurants and also
a stone throw from the whale and puffin tours boats.Would love to stay there again in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbour View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilipTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,799 - 1,805 of 2,140 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife an I spent seven nights at the Marina. It is located in the Old Harbor area, within walking distance of most of Reykjaviks attractions and many good restaurants in all price ranges. The room was comfortable and a decent size, although I had heard that some of the rooms were quite small. Rooms on the harbor side have very nice views of the harbor and Esja Mountain. The staff were invariably very friendly and helpful - a major plus.
There were only two negatives. The decor is a bit too self-consciously hip - a minor problem, and the bathrooms are separated from the bed by a wall of frosted glass, so you should make sure that you are very close to whomever you are travelling with.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mungo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This brand new hotel has a quirky, modern and very hip decor and an excellent restaurant onsite. It's very close to harbour tours and shops and an easy walk to the main shopping street in downtown Reykjavik. The rooms are very clean and everything is new. The staff were great and there are lots of amenities in the hotel like lounge space in the lobby where you can have a drink, a small selection of food and drinks available to buy, a small library and a very small fitness center (although this is right in the lobby).

I'd highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Arrived at 9.00am, after an overnight flight, for a five night stay. Room ready at 9.30 - to my great and welcome surprise. Modern design was not "standard modern" but tasteful and individual. The fourth-floor, harbour view room with balcony was adequate, quiet, clean and very comfortable. Great shower. Staff were friendly, efficient and competent without exception. Location is ideal for the town with many restaurants, coffe shops and bars within easy walking distance. Just can't fault the place.

Room Tip: Fourth floor, even numbers, are quiet with great views over the harbour and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

just spent 2 days in the Hotel: had a nice pass, some beer, the Minibar was excellently stocked, a good bar.....
Unfortunately I left the Hotel for being in Reijkyavik, which I regretted. Next Time I just stay in the Hotel........

Room Tip: Have a drink at the bar before you check in..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlySofija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I just spent 5 days at this hotel and had a wonderful experience. We arrived on the overnight flight and were able to check in early with no problems. Always a nice addition. From that point forward, I was very happy with all aspects of the hotel. The front desk is not only reception but act as the concierge as well. They can suggest great restaurants and will call to make reservations. They also help you coordinate your day excursions with the local vendors. We even had them call to move one of our excursions due to bad weather and not only did they happily do it but Icelandic excursions was fine with us moving our trip. In general, it seems as though most Icelanders are very chill and want to make your experience as positive as they can. In addition to the service, the hotel itself is very clean and has a cool, funky vibe. The lobby is inviting and the bar is always packed (the drinks are great!). The room is not huge nor us the bathroom but we spent so little time in our room that it didn't bother us one bit. From my perspective, Iceland is a place to go out and explore (rain or shine) and this hotel allows you to do that at good price. I will also add that the location is ideal. Directly across from the marina with lots of cute restaurants close by and the walk to town is 5-10mins. Lastly, the breakfast included is delicious with a full spread of homemade delights. Lots more positive things to say about Iceland in general but I will end by saying that I can't compare our hotel to others having not stayed there but we did drop others off on our way back from our day trips and we seemed to be in one if tve the best locations and the feel our hotel seemed much more upbeat and alive.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodtimesnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I recently spent 6 days in Reykjavik at this hotel property. Our experience was a good one for the most part.

The good part: Modern hotel with comfortable and cozy public areas. Very nice and very popular bar with good drinks and food. Very attentive and helpful staff throughout the hotel. Very pleased with the location near the harbor, but within easy walking distance to everything in the older (tourist oriented) part of the city. Very clean rooms. Quiet (we were on the top floor) despite the bar downstairs; had no problems at all with street noise or the shipyard next door in the harbor.

The not so good part: We found the room small (even by European standards) and the bathroom even smaller. We upgraded with an "attic" room with balcony because it was suppose to be bigger; can't imagine a smaller room. Our even numbered room faced the street with an unimpressive view; there was only a small wooden bench on the balcony. Thus, we never used the area at all. It seems that even number rooms face the harbor; a balcony might be nice for that view, but the seating problem still exists.

A cute sign in the bathroom acknowledges the "cozy" bath area by suggesting that the hotel wanted you to get out and explore the town, not waste time in the bath. Good suggestion, but it is still nice to have a large area to do the necessities of getting ready to go out.

Bottom line: A single person in the bedroom would have no problem at all. If you are a couple, expect a tight space. Request a harbor view room. However, the room is not the reason we traveled to Iceland, and we did use the room on a limited basis. The location, attentive staff, fun bar, and modern/clean decor made up to a large extent for the room limitations.

We loved Reykjavik, the many things to do in town, the wonderful guided tours out of the city into some of the most unusual scenic areas we have been to, the many good restaurants and bars, and the enjoyable Icelandic people we met all made for a very nice vacation that I wish had lasted longer. By the way, when in Reykjavik do go to the new opera, concert hall; it is architecturally intriguing, and there varied music presentations available as well as a 360 degree movie theater featuring a trip around Iceland.

Room Tip: Get a top floor (only 4 story building) room facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank drhank333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,808 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Odinsve
#13 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,205 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
627 reviews
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $173 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing