We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence is the word”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. The staff were great, incredible food and beautiful rooms. Loved it!!!! We'll definetly be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annipenzhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,887 - 1,893 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

I absolutely loved this hotel. The staff were super friendly and very helpful. Overall, just pleasant and fun to talk with. I've read that some people were unhappy with the bathrooms. My friend and I shared a room for 8 days and the bathroom size was sufficient. It had a large shower and plenty of room for both of our toiletries. The only downside was the frosted glass sliding door in the bathroom. The room size was a standard average room. We had plenty of room as two women. The beds were very comfortable with thick down comforters and 100% cotton sheets. The room was bright & cozy. Location is central, the hotel was quiet, clean and it's easy to walk to everywhere. My only suggestion would be to bring a sleep mask if you are a light sleeper. The curtains do allow in some light, but I also suffer from insomnia. The light did not affect my friend at all. We rented a car one weekend, and had no problem with parking. They have an adjacent lot with plenty of spaces. I can't say enough good things about this place, and I will definitely stay here again when I go back to Iceland in a few months.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newjerseyisforlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This brand new hotel is located right in front of where they tow up the fishing fleet for repairs. Unique placement and the hotel is designed and that concept.
Rooms are very simple but clean and do what they are designed for :)
The restaurant has top of the world chefs who have many medals under their belt. Food is raw and simple but very good.
Excellent bar area that has come very popular among the rich and famous and hip and cool people.
Thumbs up.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank seraBenedikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed three night in the MARINA with a couple of friends. The hotel opened not too long ago after a complete inside refurbishment - unfortunately they obviously didn't have funds left for the outside. Rooms are tiny but clean. Staff at the reception was - in general - helpful and friendly, whereas the bar and restaurant staff was not able to handle orders properly. Reception staff just moved my friends' stuff into a different room without prior notice. Unbelievable...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wurstnase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a new hotel in the Icelandic Air chain. Similar to the airline, the hallmark of the hotel chain is service. All personnel are polite, professional and knowledgeable. The hotel is located in the Marina district and provides a view of the docks, harbor and boatyards. There a number of restaurants nearby. The rooms are modern, but small by U.S. standards– similar to a cruise ship cabin. The hotel is well suited for a short stay- two to three days but would feel cramped for a longer stay. A real concern is the lack of grab-bars in the shower as the shower floor tends to be slippery. Would we use again, sure

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AncientTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel is fantastic! The atmosphere is really funky and cool! It's only a few months old and is already a very happening place. The bar was always full of interesting people and the rooms are so wonderful. We had a 2 bedroom suite that was perfect for our family of five. The location is also perfect - everything was an easy walk away. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Booked a standard room at this relatively new hotel while in Iceland.
Kind of grey and ugly on the outside, but much better on the inside.
Location-wise, it's very conveniently close to the main city area (about 5 mins walk) and is sitting nicely on the marina sector facing the sea and harbour.

My biggest gripe, however, is that the curtains were particularly pathetic and it barely covered the windows that let in a lot of "unending daylight" which meant that we barely slept and were like zombies for days.

PROS:
* Courteous and helpful staff who were able to advise on things like where to eat puffins.
* Rooms come with balcony, which is nice.
* Free parking, albeit limited spots.
* Free renewable Wi-Fi access with decent signal strength.
* Hotel is very conveniently located to various tour boat departure points, so early morning tours are easily done.
* Rooms are loaded with technology inputs, i.e. power sockets, USB, HDMI, etc.

CONS:
* Hard to locate the hotel on a Garmin GPS with fresh maps loaded. Hotel frustratingly wasn't on there and I don't know why.
* Standard rooms are on the tiny side, as are bathrooms.
* No standard toiletries set, but the showergel/shampoo combo was actually quite nice and useable.
* No mini-bar.

Essentially, it's a very nice hotel, but given what I had paid for it, I don't think I got what equivalent value. However, that being said, this is Iceland........

Room Tip: Pay more for a bigger room if you are claustrophobic..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vwh187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,879 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
CenterHotel Thingholt
#13 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $187 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing