We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
On a clear night....

its quite impressive and can be viewed from the Sun Voyager and the promenade. Its symbolic and in... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
PaulrSunderland
,
Sunderland
John Lennon Yoko Ono Light

This is a neat light display down on the water in honor of John Lennon presented by his wife Yoko... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
TripMember06172016
,
Franklin, Tennessee
Read all 265 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Reykjavik
from $168.20
More Info
from $20.00
More Info
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
105
64
29
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
64
29
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews videy island john lennon yoko ono beam of light northern lights certain times of the year peaceful country clear night boat trip worth the trip tour guide death tribute sky birth illuminated ferries
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a neat light display down on the water in honor of John Lennon presented by his wife Yoko Ono after his death. I believe it shines on the anniversary of his Birthday. We saw it while we were taking a night cruise on the Bay searching for the Northern Lights. It made beautiful pictures with the Northern Lights. It can be seen miles away bc it is so high and bright.

Thank TripMember06172016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here 10/9/18. Happened upon it. It was a wonderful way to commemorate John Lennons birthday. Recommend

Thank Dian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a guided tour of the Peace Tower and it was wonderful. We all wrote our wish cards and hung them on the wishing tree. We felt peace and love all around.

Thank Judi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

its quite impressive and can be viewed from the Sun Voyager and the promenade. Its symbolic and in the current world a much needed statement

Thank PaulrSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We didn't even realize that this was a thing. but as we were planning our trip, we realized we would be there on 10/9 and knew we had to go!
The free buses and ferries were helpful. It happened to be cold and rainy while I was there and I wasn't completely prepared for that.
Also, because we were coming from another activity, we got there later than most and had a hard time finding a place to stand so get there early.
But if you get a chance to be there for the lighting, do it!

Thank ChiTownDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It’s a powerful upright straight line of light. Need to be across from it to see it - it’s a nice idea

Thank Ciarrai2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I attempted to visit the John Lennon Peace Tower on October 13th, 2018. The peace tower website stated that the videy island ferry would offer rides at 8 pm at 1550kr. We ran all over the pier in search of the ferry only to find out that the only boat that goes out there at night is the tour boat which costs an astronomical $85 PER PERSON. the websites and information online is SO unorganized and misleading!!!! Unfortunately it was our last day in Iceland so we couldn't go at any other time! Very disappointed and annoyed with the information available on this!!!!

1  Thank LaurenO1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were fortunate enough to be in Reykjavik on October 9th, John Lennons Birthday, for the annual lighting of the Imagine Peace Tower on Videy Island. Though the weather was miserably wet for most of the program, it cleared off enough as we were leaving the island to get some spectacular pictures of the "Tower" flanked by the brilliant green Northern Lights. The Tower is only lit until December 8th, the date of John's assassination, so being a part of this special event was a unique opportunity for us!

Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

Unfortunately, I went late September, Early October and it is not lit at all during that period. Still, good to hike to it at Videy island and definitely took the appropriate pictures.

Thank Eneida F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

You can reach the tower--which is located in Videy Island--by Ferry. It is a beautiful piece of Art and the words "Imagine Peace" are translated in 24 languages. Worth the trip.

Thank alicia99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews