We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace Tower”

Imagine Peace Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.00*
and up
Imagine Peace Tower Tour from Reykjavik
Ranked #57 of 182 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The IMAGINE PEACE TOWER is a work of art conceived by the legendary artist and peace advocate Yoko Ono as a beacon to world peace. It is dedicated to the memory of John Lennon.The IMAGINE PEACE TOWER is located on Viðey Island in Kollafjörður and it's light is well visible from Reykjavík city and the capital area. Every year the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER emerges an hour after sunset between 9 October (Lennon's day of birth) and 8 December (Lennon's demise). In addition the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER emerges for one week on winter solstice, on New Year's Eve, for one week during spring equinox and few other selected dates. The ever changing weather conditions play an interesting part to the strength, intensity and brilliance of the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER’S light. During it's lighting time guided tours are avaiable called the Imagine Peace Tour. The tour is dedicated to the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER and Lennon’s and Ono’s continuing campaign for world peace. It is run by Elding with departures from Reykjavík's Old harbour. The tour unites history, art and nature is an interesting way.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Wonderful place to visit, we went on a cold December evening it was well worth doing. Just seven of us on the boat. Great from a distance better up close..

1  Thank 22Lynda1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Videy, Manager at Imagine Peace Tower, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear 22Lynda1954,

Thank you for joining our tour and sharing your experience. We're happy you enjoyed it.

All the best from the Elding team and the team at Videy island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 182 of 236 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have just arrived back from Iceland and was lucky enough to go on a boat tour to Videy Island to get up close to the Imagine Peace Tower. Which can be seen in the distance from Reykavik. I would definitely recommend Elding Boat Tours to see this Tower. It was just my partner and I and one other tourist which made the trip really intimate. The two tour guides were very friendly and informative. It felt amazing, there was just the 5 of us on the island visiting it and we could see back to Reykavik in the distance at 9pm it was truly magical! The Tower lights up from the 9 October - 8 December every year Lennon's birth and death dates respectively. Yoko Ono visits Iceland every year on the 9 October to light the tower. It really did feel like a once in a lifetime trip we thoroughly enjoyed :)

Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Videy, Manager at Imagine Peace Tower, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Stacet W,

Thank you for joining our tour to enjoy the view the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER and learn about it and it's message. It makes us glad that you enjoyed it and our service.

All the best from the Elding team and the team at Videy isalnd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

A tower of light lit annually between the dates of John Lennon's birth and death, this is a beautiful memorial to peace very fitting for Iceland. Through the efforts of Yoko Ono, this is blue beam seen best at night from points near and far.

Thank MARK1215926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Videy, Manager at Imagine Peace Tower, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear MARK1215926,

We're glad you got the chance to enjoy the light of the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER. It is truly great to give yourself the time to view the tower and its peaceful message to the world.

All the best from the team at Videy island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

On our way to the northern lights tour our guide told us hoe yoko ono dedicted this monument to her late husband, john lenon, with the song imagine. With iceland rich in geothermal energy, it is inexpensive to light this monument in tribute to john & world peace. Thank you yoko for such a wonderful tribute and thank you Icelanders for allowing this monument to be constructed on your island!

1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Videy, Manager at Imagine Peace Tower, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Karen B,

It makes us happy that you got to enjoy the the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER's light an your tour. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this fascinating work of art we are so proud of.

Kind regards the team at Videy island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We viewed this attraction at night on one of our trips to see the northern lights.The explanation of its conception is interesting.It stands out as a powerful beacon of light obviously best seen at night.It is thought provoking in its concept which should be adopted worldwide!

Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Videy, Manager at Imagine Peace Tower, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Peter F,

We are glad you got the chance to view the IMAGINE PEACE TOWER )and hopefully the Northern Lights as well). Thank you for sharing your thoughts on it.

All the best the team at Videy island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imagine Peace Tower also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Imagine Peace Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing