We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for breakfast”
Review of Tiu Dropar - CLOSED

Tiu Dropar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: One of the oldest cafes in Reykjavik, hidden away in a basement locale on Laugavegur 27. 'Grandma-style' interior and traditional-style cakes and other delicacies. // Each night after 6pm Tiu Dropar turns into Le Chateau des Dix Gouttes serving wine, cheese and other gourmet.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Tiu Dropar is a great breakfast spot in the heart of Reykjavik, They serve a great traditional breakfast (eggs, bacon, toast) and the prices are very reasonable.

We also ate at this restaurant one night for dinner. The meat soup was outstanding. The dinner menu is a little limited - meat soup, salad, sandwiches, but we found that everything was very tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    109
    22
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
København
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cozy place like your grandmother would have liked it”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A nice little cozy place with yummi cakes and a lovely atmosphere. I tried a carrot-cake there, very good and almost to big a piece. A great stop if you need to pamper yourself or hide from the rain :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Draupnir12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tea, coffee and meat soup”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Bet you never had meat soup. This little cafe below street level features tea first. We found meat soup on the menu. Took a guess that it would be good. We were right. It is a soup (not a stew) and served in a square bowl. There was a side good bread and we added tea. The decoration shelves are full of tea pots.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellows Falls, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Bet for Breakfast”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This spot is hard to find -- the entrance is just below street level and there's no obvious signage -- but we were glad we searched for it. My husband's American-style breakfast was quite generous and included a cup of the traditional Icelandic skyr. I had a hearty waffle with bacon; our 8-year-old son, whose tastes are limited, enjoyed his bagel. To top it off, the coffee (with free refills) was quite good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethinvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Coffee House (with tea too)”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Excellent underground hideaway for excellent coffee-drinks (or a beer). Hidden, even though it is on the main drag in Reykjavik. The café's name translates as "Ten Drops." It is well worth the stop for breakfast and coffee (i.e. espresso drinks), and excellently served-up loose-leaf tea. Fantastic quirky atmosphere and old-time decor. A quiet mix of old and young people: locals and tourists who took the effort to find it. Great place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff-n-Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiu Dropar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing