We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winterscapes on a winter day”

National Gallery of Iceland (Listasafn Islands)
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.11*
and up
City Sightseeing Reykjavik Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #81 of 176 things to do in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: THE NATIONAL GALLERY OF ICELAND Iceland's leading art museum, established in 1884. Its collection consists mainly of 19th, 20th and 21st century art.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Winterscapes on a winter day”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

It was a cold Sunday morning and I decided to visit Iceland National Gallery in Reykjavik to see the exhibition Winterscapes.
I was the only visitor during my one hour stay. The city was filled with tourists. I wonder if they ever will know what they missed. The paintings were amazing!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BrittArnhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    33
    20
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“with it if you have time”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This museum is worth a visit if you have time - had decent exhibits, although the vibe was a bit stuffy. I have to say my favorite part was the design of the building though.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank egallerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjcon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

For 1000 Kr per person this is a very scant display of dubious artworks. It takes about 15 minutes to look round and isn't worth the trip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mjcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Can be completed within 1 hour”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Some interesting artwork, others a bit boring. Finished walking around within 45mins. The expeditions don't occur regularly, you must ask at the reception desk.

Helpful?
Thank Beauty258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Pretty thin display”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

There were 4 gallery rooms with some pretty boring paintings by unknown artists. The only interesting display was of some 20 waterfalls where you could experience them in picture and sound

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissigu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gallery of Iceland (Listasafn Islands) also viewed

 

Been to National Gallery of Iceland (Listasafn Islands)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing