We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite Dining, Exquisite Views”
Review of Perlan

Perlan
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.11*
and up
City Sightseeing Reykjavik Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #19 of 176 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Perlan - Museum of Icelandic Natural Wonders, will open it's doors in the summer of 2017. When finished this will be the biggest exhibition of the natural wonders of Iceland. While construction takes place, the building will be open to visitors so they can enjoy one of Reykjavik's best viewing platforms. On the fourth floor, Kaffitar will open a pop-up cafe. This summer we will open the Glacier Exhibition, the first part of the Museum of Icelandic Natural Wonders, which is being built on two storeys in one of Perlan’s six hot water tanks. It will illustrate the glaciers, their history and future, and give visitors the amazing opportunity to experience travelling through one of them. At the same time a new and exciting restaurant will open on the top floor of Perlan, underneath the huge glass dome. On the fourth floor will be a gift store that specializes in Icelandic craft and design. The second part of the Museum of Icelandic Natural Wonders opens in 2018: a new, cutting-edge planetarium that offers a 360-degree domed immersive experience with surround sound and the best image quality available in the world today. In the summer of 2018 we will open the third part, which will also be the largest part to date. Now we will use the entire ground floor of Perlan to feature various pearls of Icelandic nature.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exquisite Dining, Exquisite Views”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Not inexpensive but one of those experiences that you will carry with you forever in terms of quality dining, wine, service, unique setting and amazing views

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank richardvwoods66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,044
    1,310
    632
    136
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
blackpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We took a No. 18 bus to reach this attraction. You can walk about 40 minutes from the town but we had heavy snow so didn't want to. Unfortunately the upper restaurant was closed for a private booking so we were unable to go up but apparently the restaurant floor revolves slowly so you have 360 degree view whilst eating you meal. We visited the cafe area which was really nice and the views from the balconies are well worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cozza753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
387 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“GLAD WE TOOK THE TRIP HERE”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had 6 hours to fill in before travelling to the airport for our flight on our last day in Reykjavik and the Manager of our hotel, Hotel Laxnes, suggested we could visit this attraction on a bus trip from right outside the hotel door. The number 18 bus takes you to Perlan.

This is some place, and there certainly are spectacular views of the city from the roof terrace. The coffee shop style restaurant seemed terrific, (though we didn't eat, as had other plans), and the revolving restaurant on the very top floor only opens in the evenings for dinner, but seemed a very high standard.

We visited the museum, and were very impressed with the way it was all set up, and the model people were the most life-like I have ever seen! That takes about 30 minutes to go around, and you finish your tour in a gift shop.

We did think there would be more to see and do inside this amazing building, but it passed an hour or so on a bitterly cold day of snow and ice, and we saw the amazing views. We'd have spent longer had we eaten there too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larsonsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Spendy, but worth it.”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Palm trees in Reykjavik? Yes, and views to die for. What a treasure, and grilled cheese would have been awesome, but the fish and vegetables were sublime, artfully presented, and powerful in their understatement. wow. Did I mention the view? You can also go there, walk around, have a cup of coffee, and just take in the sights. But...eat at the restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nobodyhomenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great views and a tasty cafe!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Awesome view of Reykjavik, even in winter when I went. Good to have an overview of the city. On the 2nd level the little tasty has some tasty snacks, and pretty good prices. Definitely worth seeing if only for the view!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perlan also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Perlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing