We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building”

Icelandic Opera (Islenska Operan)
Ranked #43 of 178 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Modern Reykjavik's architects seem addicted to concrete. There are a lot of grey uninspired boxes. This building is a notable exception. Fabulous interior that is well worth seeing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank joannasinbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    68
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spectacular in the evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Loved this centre. Visited in the evening & day. Views are stunning. Also had a lovely relaxing coffee & cake. Certainly worth a visit

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank evie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazingly Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I went along with our group who wanted this tour and left with a new appreciation of the science of sound and design!!! This was an amazing structure, complex and beautiful. Our tour guide was an opera star herself and her passion and love for what she does and the stage she performs on was contagious. She even gave us a mini private performance as part of our tour. I so recommend this tour to anyone having the opportunity. One of the most beautiful buildings I've visited.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank supernatxpresion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stunning at night and in the day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a great building to wander around and view from outside. Interesting glass facade which is lit at night with changing colours. It can't fail to impress.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgersFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, award winning...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is beautiful, even if I didn't get to the inside, which I am very sorry. But I thoroughly enjoyed walking around the sides of this many faceted building.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloSlowTouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Opera (Islenska Operan) also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Opera (Islenska Operan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing