We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Icelandic Opera (Islenska Operan)
Ranked #45 of 176 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
gosport
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Reviewed 4 August 2013


This building is beautiful both inside and outside. It is on the waterfront in Reykjavik, just a short walk from Solfar.The light reflection off the glass is stunning. Lovely area to walk around in. Nice to sit down in the cafe and take in the views and the hot chocolate with whipped cream is lovely.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne23Gosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    68
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Well worth visiting the way different colours are refracted through the roof is spectacular as are the glass walls. The main concert hall is not generally accessible unfortunately.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyfoxSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Not sure I liked it from the outside, but from the inside it was beautiful. We visited at sunset which we a perfect time, because if you stay a while, it changes again when it's lit up. After a couple of days I grew to appreciate it's beauty from the outside too. A must-see in Reykjavik.

Helpful?
1 Thank crewsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly beautiful”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Never expected to see this type of architecture in Iceland. The inside was amazingly beautiful. Too bad we could not see it under the sunlight.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lovemytraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“UNUSUAL, BEAUTIFUL CONTEMPORARY ARCHITECTURE”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Although we didn't get to a performance, we visited this opera house twice -- once during the day, when it sparkles with the sunlight-- and again after dark, when the individual glass sections show a lovely, different set of views.
The woods, the seating areas, and the views are all well worth the visit.
On the 4th floor, there is a 4-star restaurant, and in the lobby, there is a snack bar.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Opera (Islenska Operan) also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Opera (Islenska Operan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing