We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleek”

Icelandic Opera (Islenska Operan)
Ranked #44 of 176 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brighton, Großbritannien
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sleek”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I popped into the Opera house to escape from the wind that went through bone and marrow. I had not expected much and was surprised all the more for it.
The building is very modern and within seconds, I whipped out my camera because the play with lights, mirrors and reflections is really amazing. The entrance is free, they have a shop and a bar which was open even before noon. And there is also a very snazzy looking restaurant with view onto the bay. When you're in town, take half an hour to walk into the building. You will not be disappointed.
At night, the lights change and it was quite nice to watch.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Skando_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    68
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Kirby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Glass Walls”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I just dropped buy in here on my way into town, you can look around all the open area's for free, it has a cafe and WC facilities as well as a small shop. The wall's are up of exciting glass panels and if you catch the light in the right place the reflection's it make on the floor are beautiful! This is well worth a visit even just to see this exciting and unusual design which I must say is better on the inside than on the outside! There is a tour at 3:30pm Mon-Sat for 1500 Kr which I didn't do but might do another day,

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“wonderful building”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful to look at from the outside or inside.It is free to enter and walk round.The lights on the glass I believe are meant to mimic the northern lights

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zandie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“impressive”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A huge building that you can not miss if you are traveling to Reykjavik. ...l even saw it in the newspaper for a car advertisement..
It is very nice and when you are in you feel like you can stay there for ever. The change of light, view on the see,how the stairs are shaped... a thing that you must see.
And you might want to check the story behind this building.. ;)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank evcy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful building, from the outside and within, a lovely place to hang out for the afternoon and relax. Plenty of comfortable seats to relax on and to enjoy the space and architecture

Helpful?
1 Thank write2gab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Opera (Islenska Operan) also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Opera (Islenska Operan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing