We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely building”

Icelandic Opera (Islenska Operan)
Ranked #50 of 180 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“lovely building”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We did not go to the Opera but looked around the building.It was an amazing piece of architecture. So spacious and the glass work was lovely.
There was nothing on the day we went or else we would have loved to see a performance there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisburns331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    69
    13
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
606 reviews
333 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
“Great building to photograph”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We didn't watch an opera but did stop here for photos and a quick coffee to shelter from the bitter winds. Nice building, makes for great photographs. As we left there was a bad playing, very talented singer!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellingOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Il Trovatore”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went to see this on opening night. It was a great show in a great space. Even had Icelandic subtitles! A pity I can't speak Italian nor Icelandic, but a very good show indeed (I had to read the story beforehand).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“gorgeous building, wonderful performance”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A very worthwhile stop. The performance was wonderful, the building spectacular. Tickets are very reasonably priced. A very worthwhile outing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank breit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The ONLY building of architectural significance in all of Iceland”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a remarkable, modern building. We missed the tour but heard really nice things about it. I recommend going at dusk or just after as they light it up nicely at night.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhotoTvlr0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Opera (Islenska Operan) also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Opera (Islenska Operan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing