We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time I'm in love with a chuch”
Review of Hallgrimskirkja

Hallgrimskirkja
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$55.81*
and up
Reykjavik City Walking Tour with a Local: A Walk with a Viking
Ranked #5 of 179 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Oslo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First time I'm in love with a chuch”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

What a beautifull church. Great elegant arcitecture. Huge, white and majestic. Was so taken of it all that we forgot to pay for the elevator up into the belltower - please forgive us Icelanders! This church is a must for all visitors in Reykjavik.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank OsloRoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,141
    4,911
    1,416
    132
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Views!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Just go, pay the money, go up to the roof, and be amazed. Stunning. And I even hate heights! (Just make sure you have visibility, we were going to go on it first day but blizzard conditions made it pointless, so don't leave it till the last day just in case)

Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Striking architecture”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

A striking and beautiful piece of architecture. We walked around the structure and took photos in the evening, morning and at sunset. The building looked amazing in all lights. A must see in Reykyavik.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“amazing views of the city”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This church is a work of art. I walked from my hotel, to the church around 9:30 AM & it was still dark out, so I was able to get photos of the church lit up. For a small fee you can take the elevator to the top & I got views of the city at dark & daylight started around 10:00 AM, so I got photos, as the sun was rising. There is a statue of Leif Ericson in front of the church & the pipe organ inside the church are both worth reading about & viewing. I really was amazed at the beauty.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank frosteez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view of the city”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Bought a ticket and wasn't sure what to expect. As with most Icelandic churches the outside is much more ornate than the inside. The inside was simple but the organ pipes were quite nice. The elevator to the steeple was cozy but the view of the city was amazing. In the open air part of a steeple, bundle up with a hat, gloves, scarf as it can get quite windy up there.

Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hallgrimskirkja also viewed

 
South Region, Iceland
 

Been to Hallgrimskirkja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing