We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing views of the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallgrimskirkja

Hallgrimskirkja
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.15*
and up
Reykjavik City Walking Tour with a Local: A Walk with a Viking
Ranked #4 of 176 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“amazing views of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This church is a work of art. I walked from my hotel, to the church around 9:30 AM & it was still dark out, so I was able to get photos of the church lit up. For a small fee you can take the elevator to the top & I got views of the city at dark & daylight started around 10:00 AM, so I got photos, as the sun was rising. There is a statue of Leif Ericson in front of the church & the pipe organ inside the church are both worth reading about & viewing. I really was amazed at the beauty.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank frosteez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,662
    4,502
    1,262
    120
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Bought a ticket and wasn't sure what to expect. As with most Icelandic churches the outside is much more ornate than the inside. The inside was simple but the organ pipes were quite nice. The elevator to the steeple was cozy but the view of the city was amazing. In the open air part of a steeple, bundle up with a hat, gloves, scarf as it can get quite windy up there.

Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top of the city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

An absolute must is the elevator trip and a flight of stairs to the top of the church tower. The view over Reykjavik is excellent in all four directions, and photo opportunities superb since there is no glass to block the natural light and view. This also makes it very cold, so warm gear is essential in winter, and possibly at other times of the year. Unfortunately, although there is an elevator, anyone in a wheelchair is unable to get up the final level to the viewing platform.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cantraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
139 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Fantastic building, clean lines and an incredible organ pipe display, take the lift to the top of the tower to get panoramic views and great photos.. The inside of the clock faces also have lovely photo panels that are not visible from outside.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GordonMackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
388 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Just wonderful.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is a really beautiful church and I say this as a catholic who's been to many wonderful churches in Italy and Spain. We didnt have time for a concert but I wish we had. Lovely statue outside and the views from the tower are superb. A real ' Don't miss'.

Just one warning once you get out of lift, still stairs to the top....

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonFet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hallgrimskirkja also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Hallgrimskirkja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing