We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the trip”

Reykjavik Art Museum Asmundarsafn
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.50*
and up
Private Sightseeing Tour in Reykjavik
Ranked #54 of 178 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Listasafn Reykjavíkur Reykjavik Art Museum is the leading art museum in Iceland and has three locations in Reykjavik: Hafnarhus, Kjarvalsstadir and Asmundarsafn. Asmundarsafn is the former home and workshop of the sculptor Asmundur Sveinsson, who designed and mostly constructed this building himself in Laugardalur. The museum served to preserve his work and life, and displays the largest collection of his sculptures both inside and outside the building. Asmundur's art greatly reflects his lifelong interest in the Icelandic sagas, folk tales and classical mythology.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Not my thing, a few non descript blobs in a badly kept garden on a busy road. This man must have been a tortured soul in need of therapy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    40
    14
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“The friendliest curator on the planet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I had no idea what to expect as not much of a sculpture museum buff, but I enjoyed this place and the lady in duty could not have been nicer. She told me to read about the construction of the house first, to ensure I could follow the flow, made the loveliest and most welcome coffee on a miserable winters day, and gave me literature to read and to take away. She was superb! The house and it's extensions are wonderful as are the sculptures. It's small, an hour will suffice for most people, but it's enjoyable and relaxing away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist run. Make some time for here.

Helpful?
Thank tomthetank67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must-visit for any art or architecture lover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

More than just a museum for the work of sculptor Asmundur Sveinsson, the building itself is significant as a piece of architecture as the artist designed and lived in it, using it as both a studio and a showcase of a new style of Icelandic architecture in response to the climate and architecture. A great insight into the work and life of this lesser known master of 20th century modernism, the collection includes one of the great works of Icelandic modern art, 'Black Clouds'. Of the three art museums we visited as part of the National Museums combined ticket, thus was without a doubt the most interesting. Don't miss it.

Helpful?
Thank TravelinTravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“interesting architecture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We took an afternoon to do this museum and the nearby Sigurjon Olafsson museum and then walked back along the harbor. This was a lovely afteroon - both museums were great it was nice to explore other areas of town and get off the beaten path. The building was spectucular - modern design with clean white lines and interesting geometry. and the sculptures were great too. It is definitely worth the trip outside the city center and a must see if you are a sculpture and/or architecture lover.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank egallerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
161 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice sculptures in the garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

Enjoyed taking a look at the sculptures around the museum on the garden grounds. I didn't make it in time to see the museum inside before they closed at 4pm, but the sculptures outside were interesting and well worth a look if you are in the area. I don't think I would trek out to the area if only to go to the museum, but it is close to the pool, zoo and family park and botanic garden, which in some combination makes the trip out to this area worthwhile in my opinion.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank chatterbox-2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reykjavik Art Museum Asmundarsafn also viewed

 

Been to Reykjavik Art Museum Asmundarsafn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing