We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Adventures.com
from $125.32
More Info
from $175.69
More Info
from $197.66
More Info
from $290.74
More Info
Reviews (1,238)
Filter reviews
1,238 results
Traveler rating
1,038
114
37
27
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,038
114
37
27
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glacier guides trek iceland ice cave day trek hiking boots safety briefing waterproof pants arctic adventures an unforgettable experience great guide super jeep hour tour highly recommend this tour once in a lifetime small group glacier lagoon amazing tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 1,238 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

We booked snowmobiling and an ice cave adventure with this company.
We were collected from our closest bus stop on the morning of the trip by Knri (?) and after more pick ups were driven to Gulfoss waterfall where we traded the minibus for a 4x4 superjeep. We then drove further to the base on langjokull glacier. It took 2-2.5hrs to get to the base from Reykjavik city centre. 
At the base you sign a waiver for the trip and are given overalls and full kit to wear over your clothes. Helmet, goggles, gloves and over boots if required. Go with the overboots definitely. I had 2 pairs of socks and lined snow boots on and after 4ft of snow the night before my feet were freezing. The overboots were ideal!
You are then given full instructions on how to use the snowmobiles and simple safety instructions. It was all very clear and easy to comprehend. 
We drove in convoy along the glacier. The weather on the day was extremely snowy and I couldn't see further than 12ft around me. Make sure you stay in line in the convoy. During our trip one of the girls drove her snowmobile off track and somehow managed to flip her partner off the back. If you stay in the lines that have been driven previously its much safer. There is a guide in the front and one behind also and then another that flits along the entire line making sure people are keeping up and not holding other people back that want to go a bit quicker. If you're not up to going at speed they just move you to the back so you are comfortable. 
Getting into the ice cave after a heavy snow fall was tricky. A couple folk slid down the entrance-snow entirely covered the stair way. It was a lot easier getting out. 
Had the sun been visible it would have made the ice inside shine an amazing blue colour. We stayed in there and were spoken to about how the 3 types of ice are formed and then we returned along the same trail as we came. 
Once back we changed again and were offered biscuits and coffee/hot chocolate. 
Check your pockets when you change!!! No matter how many times they said this i still forgot to bring my gloves home!
After refreshments they then drive you back to Reykjavik via Gulfoss again to switch vehicles.
Only things to improve are they don't tell you when lunch should be eaten. They ask you to take a lunch with you but give no indication of the plan for the day so just incase you are wondering you should eat on either the to or from bus journey!
Also in the refreshments hut after the snowmobiling there was no milk for coffee. So maybe check before if black coffee isn't your thing.
Overall fab day and Knri was a great guide and driver. Very chatty and full of knowledge!.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank StephyTreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

Booked this excursion through Reykjavík excursions..the golden circle tour w/snowmobiling..we were picked up at our hotel (Hilton Nordica) in a shuttle bus at 8:30 a.m. and arrived at the bus terminal around 9 where we switched to a coach bus and the long journey started ..our first stop was the national park which took about 45 minutes to get there where we drove around the park seeing glaciers ..we had a 20 minute stop for bathroom and gift shop that had snacks and coffee.. next stop the geysers.. then the waterfall..there is some walking involved so warm clothes and snow or hiking boots recommended..this excursion does not provide lunch so i would recommend to bring snacks and water or you can purchase at stops..we switch to super trucks to head up to area where snowmobiles are this is about a hour and 1/2 drive mind you it’s about 2 o’clock now it’s a lot of riding on the buses ..snowmobile place provides you with jumper to put over your clothes helmet gloves and face cover ..it’s about a 45 minute ride..nice scenery aren’t able to go very fast but a good experience..we had some setbacks going back a truck got stuck in our path ..had to wait about an hour before we could leave ..this is an allllll day trip we didn’t get back to our hotel til 8 pm

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Carmellatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2018 via mobile

This was one of the best tours on my Iceland trip. The tour guide, Michael was excellent and thoroughly explained the proper way to use the equipment and very patient in the entire tour. The ice cave was only used by this tour company which allowed our group plenty of time and space to take pictures. Btw, we only had 6 people in our group too! The ice cave itself was amazing and a must do.

Date of experience: January 2018
4  Thank 806hc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aivaras D, Marketing assistant at Adventures.com, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2019

Dear H C, we appreciate your kind words, it really means a lot to us to see a satisfied customer. Thank you again, and we hope seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2018 via mobile

Absoulutey beautiful glacier with unreal scenery, Chris our tour guide was great. He was very knowledgeable, friendly and got us fairly high on the glacier (think it helped that our group were all keen to explore and fit!) I wasn't expecting the hike to be as amazing as it was, I'd definitely recommend going with these guys and booking the trip. You won't be disappointed - pictures speak volumes.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank Mundlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aivaras D, Marketing assistant at Adventures.com, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2019

Dear Mundlet, thank you for leaving such a wonderful review. We are glad you had a good experience. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our number one priority, so thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

We did the snowmobile as part of our tour with arctic adventures. These guys looked after us , from zipping my suit up, to ensuring we felt safe as we zipped around the mountain snow. I loved every moment, would recommend everyone has a go , age has no barrier to fun . The view is breathtaking, take the time to escape the mundane of our pressured lifestyles to escape & feel free . Dont die with your dream list untouched . Thankyou everyone for our special experience. Loved it would recommend you guys . Much love Susan, Kimberley and Nicola.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank 186356Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews