We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Worth a look at a real excavation

Interesting insight into the early days of Iceland and the type of home a family would have. Quite... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Ian C
via mobile
Interesting look into Iceland's Viking past

You need to be prepared to read quite a bit worth persevering to look back to the very start of the... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Mark B
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 2,705 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Reykjavik
from $167.20
More Info
from $24.70
More Info
from $105.06
More Info
Reviews (2,705)
Filter reviews
2,493 results
Traveler rating
1,286
868
285
47
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,286
868
285
47
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long house interactive displays viking longhouse early settlers small museum archaeological site archaeological dig viking age early days national museum great museum on display worth a visit icelandic history rainy day gift shop interesting information
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,493 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Interesting insight into the early days of Iceland and the type of home a family would have. Quite small and focused on the excavation of a family hall but worth an hour of your time. Good play area for children with playable examples of their version of board games of the type like snakes and ladders or checkers (draughts).

Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

You need to be prepared to read quite a bit worth persevering to look back to the very start of the island's habitation.

Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

This is great for pensioners as you get in free if you are over 67! Interesting and engaging ,and a chance to wiew the first norse settlement in Iceland in the form of a longhouse.

Thank Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Really enjoyed this exhibit! It is fascinating to see how vikings lived! Also really enjoyed the interactive tour they provided!!

Thank Coastal04968656680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

We had a few hours to kill in Reykjavik and I'd been intrigued by the snippets I'd heard about the first settlers of Iceland during my trip so thought that this exhbition would expand on that. I was not disappointed and spent longer than I thought at this modern exhibition. My personal highlight was being able to see the animal bones in the wall of the house. I would love to ask the inhabitants what they were for!

Thank Curtis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Incredible staff
Lots to look and learn
Icelandic history from the beginning
Reasonably priced entry
Great soups upstairs

Thank fraink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This exhibition is fascinating and highlights much of the early Viking life style and culture. Small exhibit but packed with info... not to be missed

Thank 518lisaannd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This museum is quiet and dark but houses many interesting artifacts. There is a picture around the entire room that shows how the landscape would have looked during the viking time. The settlement itself is so interesting. Hard to believe bookings really lived in the area you're standing in.

Thank skylite0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Underground museum. Not only actual real history but also interactive learning. You can keep it simple or really dive into all kinds of fascinating facts such as following the male vs female line of DNA that makes up the majority of Icelanders. I'm very glad we took the time. You could see it in 20 min or 4 hours depending on how much you want to learn.

Thank chk2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an exhibit that shows the actual foundation of a 1100 year old Icelandic settlement. You're looking at the real stones, not a reenactment. A lot of information. No Cost for 67+

Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews