We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small cafe”
Review of Cafe Gardurinn

Cafe Gardurinn
Ranked #118 of 483 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent small cafe”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Was delighted to find this small vegetarian cafe. The menu is simple, so you have to surrender and go with the daily specials but my curry was delicious. Excellent cappuccino too. Only sorry I didn't go back for a second visit which I had fully intended to do. I got distracted by whale-watching however and therefore didn't get back to try the carrot cake :( Next time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Reviewer1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    31
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best cakes in Iceland!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I had by far the best carrot cake I have ever tasted there, I tried my mum's chokolate cake as well and it was delicious. Can't wait to go back and try their food.
Very nice and reasonable café.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rut H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sri Chinmoy, Meditation, and Neatloaf!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Finding a good vegetarian restaurant in a country as carnivorous as Iceland can be a daunting task. Imagine our delight, then, when our Lonely Planet guidebook steered us to Cafe Gardurinn, near the heart of Reykjavik. Upon entering, a number of things seemed oddly familiar--the sky blue walls, the soft, barely audible music, the posters in the window for meditation classes. When we noticed "Neatloaf" on the menu, we put it all together. "Neatloaf" has long been our favorite menu item at Jiyoti Bihanga, a very nice vegetarian restaurant run by followers of the late Sri Chinmoy in our home city of San Diego. It turns out that Cafe Gardurinn in Reykjavik is also run by followers of Sri Chinmoy, a couple of whom spent time at the San Diego site and brought the Neatloaf recipe with them! Small world . . . Needless to say, if you like Jiyoti Bihanga in San Diego, you'll love Cafe Gardurinn in Reykjavik--same polite service, same reasonable prices, and same delicious, homemade food. If you are there on a day when the Neatloaf is on the menu, be sure to order it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jtimothyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Good quality food served in a buzzy cafe atmosphere. Price is about average for the city but the quality was excellent!

Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield uk
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Cosy and friendly. The food was delicious and reasonably priced for rejkyavik. My partner, a strict vegetarian was able to choose from several desserts.....a rare treat. We had soup bread & houmus followed by vegan cheesecake and chocolate torte (divine!) & delicious coffees!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Gardurinn also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Cafe Gardurinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing