We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped in for a quick bite and we were not disappointed”
Review of Tapashusid/Tapashouse - CLOSED

Tapashusid/Tapashouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Seafood, Spanish, Grill, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Twined for 90 years. Our casa, Sólfell, was built in 1921 and has a rich history twined with Spain. Originally Sólfell housed the production of bacalao (salted cod/saltfiskur) and Spain was by far the biggest buyer. A newspaper article from 1921 tells how the Spanish renewed the contract between the two countries. The contract was literally a big deal because the magnitude was such that the Spanish bought all the exported bacalao that year. A new Spanish contract. We have reversed things. Before the bacalao started its journey from here to Spain but now we import from Spain everything that gives us the warmth and feel of the south. Of course the bacalao has a special place in our hearts as well as on our menu along with other delicacies, enough to give you what you need to put together your dream feast, there are thousands of possible combinations. There is a certain equilibrium in the fact that we have now offer a contract with whomever enters our establishment. In it we state our determination to offer the best of the Spanish tradition in this historical house with a unique fusion of our beloved home country. Enjoy.
Virginia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Stopped in for a quick bite and we were not disappointed”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just need a quick bite to eat and warm up. We had a couple of very good small plates and a glass of wine. Good food, good service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    67
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, average service”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Ate here as they advertised whale on the menu. The food was very well prepared and all six tapa dishes we ordered were delicious. Service wasn't very fast and our tapas were served in two sets of three about 30 minutes apart. Still, the grilled whale was amazing and the smoked puffin is also a definite must-have. Don't go here if you're in a hurry, though!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fun and tasty, great evening out!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a tapas approach with an Icelandic twist. Don't expect the traditional Spanish tapas. The emphasis is on Icelandic ingredients. Being vegetarian, I doubted that there would be enough for me to eat. How wrong I was. While my colleagues ate various types of fish, plus whale and puffin, the veggie dishes kept coming, all interesting and very tasty. I can't comment on the cost as I did not pay, but I would recommend it for the variety and the quality of the food. The service was also very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walker064_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Well constructed, interesting dishes”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We wanted to sample some Icelandic dishes and this place was recommended to us. Nice spot at the end of the harbour. The menu's all sounded really interesting and the dishes themselves were well thought out- delicious combinations and all beautifully presented.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere relaxed and cosy.
I would eat here again and would recommend others to try it too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust-Dormouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Had the taste of Iceland set meal, we are not fancy people or who would normally try this kind of thing but it was beautiful! Service great very friendly. I would advise pre booking. Puffin was great.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Souherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapashusid/Tapashouse also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing