We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting and delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tapashusid/Tapashouse - CLOSED

Tapashusid/Tapashouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Spanish, Grill, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Twined for 90 years. Our casa, Sólfell, was built in 1921 and has a rich history twined with Spain. Originally Sólfell housed the production of bacalao (salted cod/saltfiskur) and Spain was by far the biggest buyer. A newspaper article from 1921 tells how the Spanish renewed the contract between the two countries. The contract was literally a big deal because the magnitude was such that the Spanish bought all the exported bacalao that year. A new Spanish contract. We have reversed things. Before the bacalao started its journey from here to Spain but now we import from Spain everything that gives us the warmth and feel of the south. Of course the bacalao has a special place in our hearts as well as on our menu along with other delicacies, enough to give you what you need to put together your dream feast, there are thousands of possible combinations. There is a certain equilibrium in the fact that we have now offer a contract with whomever enters our establishment. In it we state our determination to offer the best of the Spanish tradition in this historical house with a unique fusion of our beloved home country. Enjoy.
Calgary
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Interesting and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our last night in Iceland meal and it was well chosen. We shared an Icelandic tasting menu and a few other tapas. Everything was beautifully prepared and mostly delicious (I just don't think I am a fan of puffin- sauce was delicious though). I felt that given the variety and quality of food, the price was actually fairly reasonable ( not to be confused with cheap)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chrissysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    67
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A little bit of this and that”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a good meal of tapas here. A wide variety was sampled, and a delicious sparkling sangria. Being tapas, the plates are extremely small, but the price is true Reykjavik, very high. But, a great evening.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank happytravelernc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a relaxed, interesting setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Eating relatively early (18:30) after a long day being tourists, we were ready for some good food reflecting the ingredients specifically available in Iceland. We selected the Iceland Menu (of whatever it was called) - two between the four of us (wife and I + 2 boys, 14 & 9) with an option to add some further dishes if we didn't have enough. I would highly recommend this option if you want a taste of Icelandic specialities with a twist.
The setting and atmosphere were great - relaxed and casual but well designed with interesting décor.
The service was enthusiastic rather than "professional", but we were very satisfied and all the various servers were as friendly as other Icelandic people we met = very.
We loved the selection of dishes and enjoyed everything, although my wife found the smoked lamb too peaty in the smoking. We would all recommend the whale and puffin dishes. The house wine of the month was perfectly acceptable and reasonably priced for Iceland.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgarnes, Myrasysla, Iceland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Salmon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a delicious salmon me and my friend had at the Tapashúsid. Excellent service, the food was outstanding with a very well chosen house wine. Good location in the heart of Reykjavik near the pier.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kristjanrafnsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I came there around 22:00, the waiters took a long time to take our orders. We were 3 people and ordered 2 tapas plates per person, all of them from the hot kitchen. Only 5-10 minutes later all of our food arrived, like they were rushing us out.

The food was not good, I had nr. 22, very salty and no taste of the foie gras. I also had the duck, undercooked and very little flavor. My friends had lobster which was overcooked and asparagus was raw, not al dente but raw in one of the dish.
On all of the dishes we had was this red chilli marmalade, probably to add color to the dishes as garnish, maybe a coincidence but not very creative.

We ordered wine and sodas. The food arrived before the wine and the sodas didn't arrive until we had started the second dish. We asked three waiter's where our sodas was and they all went to check but never came back.

It's not like the place was full of people eating that can excuse the bad service.

After we paid, yes we paid, we went outside and there were the majority off the staff having a smoke and some beer. I was frustrated to see that because I'm the one "paying" for that beer.

Maybe I will give them another chance sometime since they get so good reviews. For their sake I hope this was a one nighter.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank icebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapashusid/Tapashouse also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing