We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Icelandic sampler with great desserts!”
Review of Grillmarkadurinn

Grillmarkadurinn
Ranked #30 of 590 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scandinavian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mioborg
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

My wife, daughter (15), and son (12) really enjoyed this well hidden restaurant in the center of Rejkevic. It was recommended by a local chef - after we had just eat there! Very cool place. Neat interior. Amazing bathroom! Excellent service. And we got to try a great variety of typical Icelandic food. We had a meat gourmet meal and the fish gourmet meal as well as the horse filet. The horse filet was awesome. Never had horse before. Surprisingly good! Dessert was to die for.

Yes, crazy expensive. But that is Iceland.

NJOY!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank dmoskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (5,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,881 - 1,885 of 5,140 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

We went for lunch. It has a fantastic ambience and the service started off great but then went down hill as they got busier.
Started with this great bread and salted butter. I had the grilled lamb skewers which were some of the best lamb I have had. Then we each had the fish and chips which were good and a large portion, but it took a very long time to get our main course and others tables around and received their food and finished before we got ours and they arrived after us. The wait staff had kind of disappeared on us.
The food was good but the service left a bad taste in my mouth.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank P5249JYmicheles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Went for the lunch tasting menu with moderate expectations as this was recommended by a friend....

We were blown away. Everything from the cocktail to the dessert was delicious. My boyfriend and I both agreed it was a top 5 meals of all time. We eat at many great restaurants so this is saying something special!

A total surprise and a true gem! Worth the money for a great meal in a super cool space. Highly recommend the lunch tasting menu since it seemed like a great value over dinner....

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank kwasibor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 16, 2016

Book in advance advised. Locals eating always means you have found invariably somewhere good. It's not cheap but extremely well prepared - we had the fish platter and the sea trout - both were amazing. We saw the taster menu - you'd need to be extremely hungry but it looked very good!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank JAKEParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 15, 2016

We were looking forward to going to the Grillmarket but were very disappointed at not only the food but also the service. We had a novice waiter who knew nothing about the menu or wine list. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Grillmarkadurinn also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Grillmarkadurinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.