We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, High End Option in Reykjavik”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grillmarkadurinn

Grillmarkadurinn
Ranked #12 of 462 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent, High End Option in Reykjavik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great service, Excellent food, Very expensive (even for Reykjavik).

Highlights of the meal were the slider trios (whale, lobster, reindeer) and the Horse tenderloin.
This is a great place to try some unusual meats. The portions were surprisingly very large.

We had a great meal here, but be prepared to $$$ for it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mj23439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,535
    754
    197
    57
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Decent rather than fantastic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

With a rating "number 2 out of 299 in Reykjavik" I was expecting great things. We turned up without a reservation at 6.40pm and were offered seats at a bar in front of the kitchen. By 7pm they were turning customers away so I'd try and arrive early if you don't have a reservation.
The food was fine and extra marks for using mostly local produce. My steak was somewhat under cooked and fatty but tasty none the less. The accompanying French fries and vegetables were luke warm and therein lies the problem - I could see straight into the kitchen and they were clearly having lots of problems coordinating foods to go out to the tables at the same time. In effect various parts of ones meal were prepared and then plated up to go cold whilst the plate waited for the last ingredient to arrive.
Service was good and with a smile and the bill was pleasingly lower than other reviews had led me to expect. That this restaurant rates so highly against its local competition says as much about the others' as it does about this one's excellence or lack thereof.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GDM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Icelandic Cuisine...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Standard fare as well as Iceland exclusives. Great service, friendly staff and tasty food. Cool environment. Should not be missed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank W0rldTraveler4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Cannet, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“one of most enjoyable dinner experience in iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

3 visits in less than 6 months!
Definitely one the best dinner experience in Iceland!
Not to be missed if you stay in reykjavik!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 270151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, try the tasting menu...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Went with the whole family, we had the tasting menu which was outstanding. Kids had the steak which they loved, setting gorgeous, service was wonderful (but it can be slow if you get the tasting menu). Our best restaurant experience in Iceland

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gottzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grillmarkadurinn also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Grillmarkadurinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing