We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grillmarkadurinn

Grillmarkadurinn
Ranked #12 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Love the design, diversity of menue, quality and presentation of food! Oh did I mention the good service?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nawal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,498
    740
    193
    55
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The hottest restaurant in Reykjavik”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Very stylish place with interesting food and excellent service. Real buzz. We tried the tasting menu (although refused the whale). Expensive, but that's Reykjavik.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Every local and tourist we spoke to recommended this place. My husband and I sat at the bar since we didn't make a reservation prior. The service was friendly and always available, the food and drinks were delicious and this was easily the best restaurant we tried in Reykjavik

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lindsay1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tasting Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great atmosphere and good food! We were able to sample whale and some other Icelandic specialities. It is expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ktwaack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Delicious, great atmosphere and fab service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a fabulous restaurant - it offers an interesting and varied menu, a relaxed atmosphere and fabulously attentive service. Each dish that we had was delicious and beautifully presented. I was also surprised by the portion sizes, which were much larger than I would have expected. The mini-burger trio of puffin, whale and lobster was a highlight for my partner, and my lamb t-bone was the most juicy and tasty lamb I have had for a long time.

We booked ahead before we arrived in Reykjavik and were glad that we had as we were only able to get in on the Sunday night of our Friday to Sunday stay. It is not cheap (but then nowhere in Iceland is) but it is really worth it for a special meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pboropixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grillmarkadurinn also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Grillmarkadurinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing