We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure to check out the bathrooms”
Review of Grillmarkadurinn

Grillmarkadurinn
Ranked #13 of 465 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scandinavian, Grill
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
WEST LINN
Level Contributor
129 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Make sure to check out the bathrooms”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Grill Market is a pretty unique restaurant in downtown Reykjavik. The owners make you feel that you are on vacation. The whole restaurant is fun and enjoyable. The food was good, the restaurant has it's own signature burger that was very good and the salmon was done well also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rraschio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,603
    774
    200
    57
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Trendy Restaurant with Great Food”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Bottom Line: Fantastic, pricey food in a hip atmosphere

The Great

The food was excellent here. We elected to do the tasting menu which covered a significant portion of the menu. In particular, the Minke Whale stood out, even if I felt a bit guilty eating it, as did the less guilt-inducing Ribeye. The dried fish was also quite good and unique. The atmosphere was very hip and modern, with very cool wooden tables and walls. The service was excellent, with our server being attentive and friendly.

The Mediocre

Somewhat frustrating was that although they were happy to substitute a pork dish in the tasting menu due to dietary restrictions, they refused to substitute a specific dish we requested for no reason. Also of note is that while all of Iceland is expensive, this restaurant was particularly pricey. The food was worth it, but the other restaurant we went to Svardgrille, was also quite good and somewhat cheaper.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheJewgernaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
234 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Extravagant setting, a celebration of Iceland's finest offerings”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were delighted when an Icelandic friend was able to talk the restaurant into taking us without a reservation on a Friday evening. The decor reflects all the hardscapes Iceland is so famous for. It is dark and mysterious and exciting. The wait staff looks like it has stepped out of a fashion magazine, or should step in. The menu proudly draws from farms and fishing throughout Iceland, with accents of lava salt also offered, which was yummy, and which they sell(too expensive...buy it elsewhere.) There were five of us, and three had tasting platters of various local meats: lamb, beef, and pork. The wooden platters each were piled with mushrooms, potatoes, and asparagus. the presentation was artful and copious. A friend had the local salmon and thoroughly enjoyed it. We shared some simple garden salads, piled whimsically high in wide tumblers. We were glad we came. If you do have dinner there, or at least a drink, don't forget to powder your nose. The washroom decor, and walk to find it, is worth the trip. A really gratifying meal, and a terrific introduction to, and celebration of, Iceland's finest.....everything!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janeaustinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic dinner, atmosphere, and service. This place would do well in any city in the world and still shine. If you are a foody, the tasting menu provides a nice your of the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“There are better and more innovative places in town for the price...”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Have eaten there on a number of occations on business trips to Iceland, it was a fancy and intersting place to eat to begin with. However, after two years with an unchanged menu, standards have started to slip significantly and on my last visit two of my tablemates had to return their food due to "enthusiastic" seasoning. Today, I find this place as being more about packaging than substance; like bread it was good at the beginning but has gone stale through lack of innovation.
It's moderately pricey, but frankly, for the price, there are better bets in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hungarian323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grillmarkadurinn also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Grillmarkadurinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing