We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Restaurant! A must in Iceland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grillmarkadurinn

Grillmarkadurinn
Ranked #12 of 461 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant! A must in Iceland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

During our trip to Iceland we went to this restaurant. Indeed the best food we had in Iceland. The waitress was very helpful and service was awesome. Nice romantic place. We had dinner in a wooden table that was actually a part of a tree. Dinner was with dim lights. A bit pricy, but it is worth going there. Highly recommendable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StardustMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,534
    753
    197
    56
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stumbled across this restaurant and so glad we did as this was by far the best meal we had In Reykjavik! I had the burger which was great & hubby had the red fish which was amazing! Service and wine also great! Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammy_tomlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This restaurant is a MUST TRY on your visit to Reykjavik! I highly recommend the Tasting Menu - it is a tremendous deal which includes 4 appetizers, 3 main courses and 4 desserts - all of which were delicious! The portions are healthy, thus, you will find it difficult to finish your meal! The service was excellent as was the food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank girlygirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food in a Basalt/Lava Basement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We lucked out, stumbling into this restaurant during Reykjavik's Food and Fun Festival when world-acclaimed Chefs collaborate with Reykjavik's top restaurants using the best of Icelandic ingredients. In our case Jamie Bissonnette of Boston. Wonderful food, and obviously all the Reykjavikers came out - so didn't feel trapped in a tourist trap - it was great people watching. And what an interestingly designed place. V. cool! And the bread plate with fresh butter and black salt started it all of wonderfully.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cameron777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not as good as the rewiews!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The restaurang has a sign by the entry to the street, but not by the door. Strange. We had to ask if this was the place. We were three friends coming early in the evening. We didn´t get any other table than by the bar, looking into the kitchen, as many other guests that came without a reservation. Some of the guests walked out again as there where many free tables all evening.

We wanted two starters each as we where not starfing.
The Grilled Carpaccio was ok, but not more than that.
Fried dried fish and the fried squid was served on a stone. It was to dry.
My friend did complain about the starter tender whale steak. Something tasted really salty and we couldn´t find any other taste than salt. The only thing that happened was that the waiter asked the cook, should this be salty. He said no...but no one offfered to take it back!!
Our vegetarian friend ordered deepfried vegetables in a crispy dough. They were not crispy!
So..were we really unlucky or did the cook have a bad day??
This restaurant I wan´t visit again and I can´t reccomend it my friends. I ´m sorry!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grillmarkadurinn also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Grillmarkadurinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing