We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal!”
Review of Grillmarkadurinn

Grillmarkadurinn
Ranked #13 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scandinavian, Grill
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
los angeles
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This restaurant is a MUST TRY on your visit to Reykjavik! I highly recommend the Tasting Menu - it is a tremendous deal which includes 4 appetizers, 3 main courses and 4 desserts - all of which were delicious! The portions are healthy, thus, you will find it difficult to finish your meal! The service was excellent as was the food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank girlygirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,633
    787
    203
    58
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food in a Basalt/Lava Basement”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We lucked out, stumbling into this restaurant during Reykjavik's Food and Fun Festival when world-acclaimed Chefs collaborate with Reykjavik's top restaurants using the best of Icelandic ingredients. In our case Jamie Bissonnette of Boston. Wonderful food, and obviously all the Reykjavikers came out - so didn't feel trapped in a tourist trap - it was great people watching. And what an interestingly designed place. V. cool! And the bread plate with fresh butter and black salt started it all of wonderfully.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cameron777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not as good as the rewiews!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The restaurang has a sign by the entry to the street, but not by the door. Strange. We had to ask if this was the place. We were three friends coming early in the evening. We didn´t get any other table than by the bar, looking into the kitchen, as many other guests that came without a reservation. Some of the guests walked out again as there where many free tables all evening.

We wanted two starters each as we where not starfing.
The Grilled Carpaccio was ok, but not more than that.
Fried dried fish and the fried squid was served on a stone. It was to dry.
My friend did complain about the starter tender whale steak. Something tasted really salty and we couldn´t find any other taste than salt. The only thing that happened was that the waiter asked the cook, should this be salty. He said no...but no one offfered to take it back!!
Our vegetarian friend ordered deepfried vegetables in a crispy dough. They were not crispy!
So..were we really unlucky or did the cook have a bad day??
This restaurant I wan´t visit again and I can´t reccomend it my friends. I ´m sorry!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb - twice!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited for dinner twice. The first visit was booked having read Tripadvisor recommendations and we enjoyed it so much we made another reservation for our last night. We chose from the a la Carte menu and enjoyed skewers, meat and fish gourmet dishes and a delicious deconstructed creme brulee. We preferred sitting downstairs - ask for a booth - the setting feels very subterranean with a spiral staircase descending into stylish decor with lava faced walls and basalt columns. Great atmosphere and don't miss a trip to the loos!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueStephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by our Icelandic tour guide on a trip earlier in the week. As some other people have said it is a bit tricky to find but when you do it's definfitely worth it!

We booked a table on line which even though it was only a Tuesday night was a good idea, the place was pretty packed both upstairs and downstairs, I didn't spot an empty table all night! The layout of the restuarant is very modern and stylish (have a look on the website to see what I mean) and there's a cocktail lounge bar down stairs which we never tried but it looked nice!

The food was absolutely gorgeous, great quality as with just about everything in Icleand and plentiful. The staff are very attentive and they are never still! The restaurant is not cheap but where is in Iceland? We had the Rib Eye and the Lamb T bone both of which were succulent and well presented, there wasn't room for a dessert but I was lots going past me and they looked lovely!

I would say that if you get the chance the Grill Market is definitely worth a visit! :o)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tigmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grillmarkadurinn also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Grillmarkadurinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing