We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Place - Best people”
other traveler has booked this property
The house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house
New kitchen 2013 Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The house
New kitchen 2013
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Dinner table
Living room and TV
Living room
Bathroom, tub and shower
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Haris G
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Place - Best people”
Reviewed December 16, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

It was one of the best times of my life and certainly those people and their house ,had an impact on that:)
The house was excellent ,warm with everything that you could possibly need-want.
Near down town within walking distance , 2 room apartment with garden very warm and clean. We had wifi ,internet tv and games to spend our indoor time. "Palli" and his wife are one of the coolest couples i have seen and despite their exhausting schedule ,they helped us in many different ways.
Huge +++ their 4x4 Suv car that we could have with a great price.
<3 you guys.......I will be back.........

P.S Or i see you sooner in Greece:)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsie D
1 review
“Lovely apartment and friendly hosts”
Reviewed December 2, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We absolutely loved our stay in Reykjavik! The city centre was about 10 minutes away but you wouldn't know it as we didn't hear a peep when we were staying in the apartment, it was so peaceful. The hosts, Pall and Dagrun, were so kind and helpful. They both suggested great places to visit and cheap grocery stores as the prices in Iceland are much higher than those in the UK. They even let us borrow their car for an additional price which included a satnav. The apartment had everything expected and was very cosy. We visited the Geysirs and went to the Secret Lagoon, a more natural, quieter and smaller alternative to the blue lagoon that Pall suggested. We only went for a few days so if we come back we will definitely stay here again. We have fallen in love with Iceland, there is always a surprise no matter where you go and we loved the city of Reykjavik! All the lights are amazing. Such a breathtaking country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Ideal Home Base”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I aren't "touristy" travelers. We try to live and experience everything like "locals" as much as possible when we're away from home. This apartment in Reykjavik was ideal for us in terms of size, location, and amenities. And the owners were absolutely wonderful and accommodating in every possible way. In fact, we ran into some extremely inconvenient travel problems and they went out of their way to help us in our time of need. Booking and payment were as simple as they could possibly be, and communication was superior. Thanks for an amazing stay, Pall and Dagrun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location convenience and wi-fi quality
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodswoma...
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Convenient to city centre, yet peaceful.”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2013

This apartment was perfect for us. A leisurely stroll into town, the harbour and grocery stores but with peace and quiet as we are light sleepers. All the facilities you need are provided.
The owners live above. You have your own entrance and privacy - but they are handy to give advice and travel tips, if needed. They are very friendly and knowledgeable people.
Like other reviewers we hired Pall's 4WD, which was a huge bonus! Not having driven on the right before I was a bit apprehensive, but the route out of town wasn't too onerous and we were soon out in the wild landscape of Iceland and having the trip of a lifetime.
I consider myself very fortunate to have chosen this place to stay. Thanks, Pall!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & owners
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael I
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
“Convenient & Quiet Apartment in Reykjavik”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This apartment is a renovated basement unit in a private house in a quiet residential section of northwest Reykjavik. The owners are husband and wife, Pall and Dagrun, two of the nicest people you are likely to meet in Iceland.

Pall, who also runs an outdoor guide business, provided welcome recommendations for day-trips into the county and for many of the “must-see” tourist attractions. Dagrun generously offered to wash and dry our laundry at their house, when we found the dryer listed with the apartment had been removed for repairs. They also provided us additional towels to take to the swimming pool, which save us the $5 USD rental fee. Pall and Dagrun both have professional day-jobs and were helpful in describing the business climate in Iceland and some of the cultural norms.

The apartment has a well equipped kitchen, with dishwasher, which we used mostly for breakfast, because we were traveling almost every day. There are 2 bedrooms, one with a queen bed and one with 2 singles. It seems ideal for a family with 2 kids, but it worked fine for 4 adults who have previously traveled together. Having unlimited hot water in the shower for everyone is a nice Icelandic benefit.

The apartment is located a 5- minute walk from a bakery (good for breakfast pastry or sandwiches) and 2 supermarkets; 10-minute walk from the nearest thermally heated swimming pool (Vesturbaejarlaug); and 15-20 minutes to most of the Reykjavik business area.

If you plan to rent a car, Pall and Dagrun offer their guests a 5-seat SUV for $99 USD /day (as of May 2014) with a GPS and you can pick the days you want to use it. This is a Great Deal if you comparison shop. This is not an off-road vehicle, but the all-wheel drive is nice in the rain and on gravel roads. If you are planning to drive off-road in a rental vehicle, I recommend you visit the web site http://icelandreview.com and search for “off-road fine” to decide if it’s worth the risk.

We would certainly recommend this apartment because of the owners and its location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
572eve
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent stay for our family”
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was the perfect place for us to stay with our two boys. So much better than a hotel! We loved the space...great to spread out and have a relaxing visit. Very clean and comfortable. Being in a real neighborhood and not in the middle of downtown suited us really well. We were close to everything but were able to get a sense of "real" life. Loved seeing kids walking to school on the first day! We got delicious breakfast from the nearby bakery each morning. Pall was ENORMOUSLY helpful and answered my many many questions both before and during our visit. Highly recommended for an authentic visit to Reykjavik!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness, decor, location, space to spread out
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tat1988
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great place to stay in Reykjavik”
Reviewed October 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at this charming apartment downstairs from a very friendly family. The house is conveniently located, close to the center of town and to supermarkets, a bakery and local restaurants. The owners are incredibly kind and helpful; sharing their own concierge at a reasonable rate, bikes and informing us about fun places to visit that were not in the tour guides. We would definitely go back and stay with them and have recommended their place to friends and family. We are a family of 4 with 2 college age young men who also enjoyed the trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing