We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Ideal Home Base”
The house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house
New kitchen 2013 Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The house
New kitchen 2013
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Dinner table
Living room and TV
Living room
Bathroom, tub and shower
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Angie L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Ideal Home Base”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I aren't "touristy" travelers. We try to live and experience everything like "locals" as much as possible when we're away from home. This apartment in Reykjavik was ideal for us in terms of size, location, and amenities. And the owners were absolutely wonderful and accommodating in every possible way. In fact, we ran into some extremely inconvenient travel problems and they went out of their way to help us in our time of need. Booking and payment were as simple as they could possibly be, and communication was superior. Thanks for an amazing stay, Pall and Dagrun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location convenience and wi-fi quality
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodswoma...
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Convenient to city centre, yet peaceful.”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2013

This apartment was perfect for us. A leisurely stroll into town, the harbour and grocery stores but with peace and quiet as we are light sleepers. All the facilities you need are provided.
The owners live above. You have your own entrance and privacy - but they are handy to give advice and travel tips, if needed. They are very friendly and knowledgeable people.
Like other reviewers we hired Pall's 4WD, which was a huge bonus! Not having driven on the right before I was a bit apprehensive, but the route out of town wasn't too onerous and we were soon out in the wild landscape of Iceland and having the trip of a lifetime.
I consider myself very fortunate to have chosen this place to stay. Thanks, Pall!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & owners
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael I
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
“Convenient & Quiet Apartment in Reykjavik”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This apartment is a renovated basement unit in a private house in a quiet residential section of northwest Reykjavik. The owners are husband and wife, Pall and Dagrun, two of the nicest people you are likely to meet in Iceland.

Pall, who also runs an outdoor guide business, provided welcome recommendations for day-trips into the county and for many of the “must-see” tourist attractions. Dagrun generously offered to wash and dry our laundry at their house, when we found the dryer listed with the apartment had been removed for repairs. They also provided us additional towels to take to the swimming pool, which save us the $5 USD rental fee. Pall and Dagrun both have professional day-jobs and were helpful in describing the business climate in Iceland and some of the cultural norms.

The apartment has a well equipped kitchen, with dishwasher, which we used mostly for breakfast, because we were traveling almost every day. There are 2 bedrooms, one with a queen bed and one with 2 singles. It seems ideal for a family with 2 kids, but it worked fine for 4 adults who have previously traveled together. Having unlimited hot water in the shower for everyone is a nice Icelandic benefit.

The apartment is located a 5- minute walk from a bakery (good for breakfast pastry or sandwiches) and 2 supermarkets; 10-minute walk from the nearest thermally heated swimming pool (Vesturbaejarlaug); and 15-20 minutes to most of the Reykjavik business area.

If you plan to rent a car, Pall and Dagrun offer their guests a 5-seat SUV for $99 USD /day (as of May 2014) with a GPS and you can pick the days you want to use it. This is a Great Deal if you comparison shop. This is not an off-road vehicle, but the all-wheel drive is nice in the rain and on gravel roads. If you are planning to drive off-road in a rental vehicle, I recommend you visit the web site http://icelandreview.com and search for “off-road fine” to decide if it’s worth the risk.

We would certainly recommend this apartment because of the owners and its location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
572eve
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Excellent stay for our family”
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was the perfect place for us to stay with our two boys. So much better than a hotel! We loved the space...great to spread out and have a relaxing visit. Very clean and comfortable. Being in a real neighborhood and not in the middle of downtown suited us really well. We were close to everything but were able to get a sense of "real" life. Loved seeing kids walking to school on the first day! We got delicious breakfast from the nearby bakery each morning. Pall was ENORMOUSLY helpful and answered my many many questions both before and during our visit. Highly recommended for an authentic visit to Reykjavik!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness, decor, location, space to spread out
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tat1988
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great place to stay in Reykjavik”
Reviewed October 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at this charming apartment downstairs from a very friendly family. The house is conveniently located, close to the center of town and to supermarkets, a bakery and local restaurants. The owners are incredibly kind and helpful; sharing their own concierge at a reasonable rate, bikes and informing us about fun places to visit that were not in the tour guides. We would definitely go back and stay with them and have recommended their place to friends and family. We are a family of 4 with 2 college age young men who also enjoyed the trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fordshous...
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Wonderful home and family”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a wonderful time visiting Iceland and staying in this great apartment. It was perfect for my family (2 adults and 2 kids). We had extra space we wouldn't have in a hotel and also had the convenience of a kitchen. There is a nearby grocery store to buy food (but beware prices in Iceland are much higher than US). We also took advantage of renting a car from Pall and Dagrun and despite some mechanical troubles it worked out great. My kids loved the playground right down the street. Definitely check out the local pool http://www.visitreykjavik.is/laugardalslaug, we went there our first night and it was great hanging out with the locals. We only got to stay in Iceland for a few nights on our way to Europe so we did the Golden Circle tour stops, but we all agreed we want to come back and stay a week so we can do the Ring Road. We will definitely look to stop back and stay with Pall and Dagrun.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn G
Decatur, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Calm Oassis in Reykjavik”
Reviewed October 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying in this apartment for one week in May of 2014. Reykjavik is a very easy city to get around in by foot. This apartment is a mere fifteen-minute walk from city center and a five-minute walk from two grocery stores and a bakery. It is situated in a quiet well-kept neighborhood and because it is not right downtown it is peaceful and quiet at night allowing for a restful evening after a day of adventure.

The pictures on the website present a fair representation of the apartment. It is well maintained and has a recently updated kitchen. A washer and dryer are available which allows for packing fewer clothes. Always a good thing!

The apartment is in the basement of the house, which might make you think it is small and dark which it definitely is not. There is plenty of light. We found the size quite comfortable for two but it does have 2 bedrooms so it can hold four.

We chose not to rent a car but walked everywhere in town and hired a guide to take us out for day trips in the countryside. This was our first visit to Iceland. It will not be our last. I would definitely rent this apartment again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing