We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personalized Service!”
Review of Hotel Odinsve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Odinsve
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Personalized Service!”
Reviewed April 18, 2010

The service is excellent. Front desk staff are friendly and ready to help you - from booking excursions to fruit basket/champagne in the bedroom to booking an anniversary dinner at the Perlan Restaurant. The hotel is located two blocks from the main street. It is quiet, clean and has decent accomodation. Please keep in mind that 4-5 star hotels in Iceland are nowhere near 4-5 star hotels in the U.S. Hotel accomodation is definitely part of the adventure. I would highly recommend Hotel Odinsve to anyone. Without a doubt, my husband and I will stay there again in the near future! Most importantly, I would suggest to couples not to bring their small children when vacationing in Iceland (just like my husband and I) so that they can truly savor and enjoy the romantic aura of Iceland. Somethng to think about...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCouple2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    511
    117
    29
    14
See reviews for
204
560
112
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We spent three nights in Reykjavik, staying at Hotel Odinsve. The hotel was very central but a few streets away from the main area so nice and quiet at night. The staff were very efficient and friendly and only too happy to book trips. They even rang the horse riding centre where we had spent the morning to retrieve my inhaler for me! Breakfast was reasonably priced and fresh and tasty (buffet). The room was a nice size and very clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable. If a friend was going to Reykjavik I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArthurSeaton73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
158 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

This is a good quality central hotel, close to - but not on top of - the main shopping area.

The room was clean and large (we somehow got a room split over two levels which felt wonderfully palacial!). Service was very friendly and attentive. We only got to sample a rushed early morning breakfast due to an early flight so I can't fairly comment on food or the restaurant.

Recommended as a nice quiet base from which to explore the Icelandic capital.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Empathology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

I arrived at the hotel late night. There was a group reservation made for us. I read good reviews on Tripadvisor and I knew it was a four star hotel. Also local people recommended it to me. When I entered the room - I was really disappointed. The furnuture in the room was really old. There were some holes in the wall paper. The TV channels were not tuned. The bed was extremely uncomfortable (and I am young and tend to fall asleep anywhere). The water in the shower didn't run away. The room smelled smoke. The window was dirty. The carpet was dirty. I was so disappointed. But the rest of our group was very satisfied with their rooms. Apparently I got a room from an old part of the hotel? Then why wasn't I warned. Or at least this room could have been in different price category.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Hotel is really central, few minutes walk to the main streets and shopping street Laugavegur. Still not noisy at all and very safe.

It's very clean and stylish, furnished scandinavian style. Room was really spacious and nice. We had room with two floor, one double bed at first floor and one big sofabed on 2 floor, so three of us had plenty of space.

Breakfast was also very good and staff was professionals and friendly. Overall we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Odinsve is between the Hallgrimskirkja and the town center, though neither is these is more than a few blocks away, making for an excellent location. The Flybus from the airport stops for free at this and other hotels in the city, and the front desk can book bus tours and other excursions for you. My room was very affordable ($61/night through Expedia), and I found it to be a typical European hotel room, neat, small, and functional. Americans looking for lavish decor and other amenities will be disappointed, but they should not be. This is an excellent hotel and accommodation in a terrific location. I liked the room very much. The hot water in Reykjavik is infused with a gas that makes the water smell like rotten eggs or sulphur, but this is not even noticed after a while, and it does not affect the taste of the water, so you should feel free to use the complimentary coffee. The service was outstanding: very attentive and helpful. There is an excellent restaurant in the hotel. My room looked out on the Hallgrimskirkja and was very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsalyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We had an overnight stay at this hotel on our arrival in Iceland. We were looking for a centrally-positioned hotel but also one in a quiet area and reasonably priced. This hotel fitted the bill. It is located on a square in a residential area between the centre and the Hallgrimskirkja. The hotel does not have a car park but there is free overnight parking in the square immediately in front of the hotel.

Our room was fairly small but the bed was very comfortable and with 24 hour daylight we really didn't spend much time in it. The bathroom was adequate although the shower was very smelly (sulphur - you will get used to this if you spend any length of time in Iceland!).

The staff were mostly very friendly and helpful although the night porter was very disinterested when we approached him with a possible problem with our hire car. We tried again when the day staff came on and they were very helpful and made telephone calls on our behalf to sort out the problem.

Breakfast was the usual array of eggs, cereal, fruit, bread, jams etc. We did not have dinner at the restaurant but ate instead at an Italian restaurant called The Basil and Lime which we would recommend. It seemed very popular and we would suggest either booking in advance or getting there early.

Overall this hotel is nothing out of the ordinary but it is very well placed and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
Hotel Holt
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odinsve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odinsve

Property: Hotel Odinsve
Address: Odinstorg Thorsgata 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Odinsve 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Odinsve, a boutique hotel in downtown Reykjavik, offers quality four star accommodation in the residential area of 101 - the heart of Iceland's capital. The hotel has a total of 50 rooms. The decor encapsulates a Nordic ambiance whilst offering a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. The hotel prides itself on offering an impeccable service with emphasis on comfort and personal attention. Within the hotel you will find SNAPS BISTRO which offers top quality food and a variaty of good vines and coctails in a lovely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Odinsve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odinsve Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing