We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All I needed for a short stay”
Review of Hotel Odinsve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Odinsve
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel is in a very central part of Reykjavik, within easy walking distance from the main tourist sites. There are also quite a few good restaurants close by including the Sjavargrillid Seafood Grill. They also have their own restaurant which is, apparently, very good. I didn't manage to try it as I was only there for 2 nights and it was always full. My room was very small but had everything needed for my short stay. I only used the room for sleeping so the size of the room didn't really matter anyway. The hotel was clean and all the staff very friendly and helpful. Although prices were not cheap (that's Iceland) they were reasonable when compared to other downtown hotels I had considered. A lot of day tour operators can pick you up directly from the hotel. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkL857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

I ended up spending the night at the Odinsve after my GPS misdirected me back to Reykjavik when I was supposed to go another direction. I had just stayed at a guesthouse for 3 nights a block away, and had eaten at the excellent and popular Snaps bistro restaurant at the hotel every night. I had seen the room an acquaintance of mine was staying in and was favorably impressed. Because of the last minute booking, I supposedly got the only room available. It was on the first floor, close to the entrance, and thus I could hear street noise from the room. The room was small but adequately furnished with a single bed, desk, chair for reading, and an ample and well appointed and supplied bathroom. The location of the Odinsve is, I think, largely what you are paying for. I would stay here again but ask for a corner room, even a double, on a higher floor. The small room was rather pricey but I was glad to pay under the circumstances.

Room Tip: If you have a choice of rooms, be sure to ask for one away from the entry and on a high floor (there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frqtrvlr09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Located right smack in the middle of downtown Reykjavik, a couple of hundred meters from the main shopping street. The staff were very service-minded, and most seemed genuinely friendly, which is rare. The restaurant next door was also pretty good, although constantly packed, but I guess you can't hold that against them. You'll find a lot of other very good restaurants within a few hundred meters of the hotel in any case. The rooms were fairly average, but more than adequate for my needs. Bathrooms could have been freshened up a bit, and were very much on the small side. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stono78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was our second stay at the Odinsve. The first time we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a top floor suite, and that is VERY nice. No such luck this time, but we liked our quiet sunny room at the back of the hotel with the white comforters and comfy twin beds - it was quite spacious and had tea and coffee making equipment. The staff were great, and we were able to check in upon arrival early in the morning, which was much appreciated after an overnight flight. Warning to larger people - check that you will fit in the shower, which is very small! Maybe upgrade to that suite I mentioned if that is the case. Food in Iceland is expensive, you might as well pay the extra cost for the breakfast, which is ample and will set you up for your day.

Room Tip: Make sure you fit in the shower! And get the breakfast, it's ample and will save you money in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmumirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

More on par with a typical hostel in town. Don't let the facade of their website fool you, this place is just an overrated hostel complete with a staff who plays the snoody bit too hard. I am writing this review as a listen to dishes being done in the commercial kitchen below... at midnight. I slept better in the 1.5 person tent my wife and I shared on the Laugavegurinn Trail the past 4 nights.
Iceland is awesome! We have been here 2.5 weeks on our honeymoon. Avoid Reykavik. There is much to be seen on this island and much better places to stay. Example: Hotel Selfoss was a third the cost room/night and double the value. Hotel Rangia, Hotel Ion, and the hotel at Skatafell where all amazing all-around.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zfraysier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Hotel Odinsve is on a small street in central Reykjavik, within easy walking distance to the old harbor, restaurants, shopping, and the BSI bus terminal. Our room was clean and comfortable. Like most American tourists in Europe, we found the bathroom and shower disconcertingly small, but that's not unique to this place. Our room faced the courtyard; the hotel was mostly quiet, though occasionally we could hear people talking through the open windows of the other rooms. The staff very very friendly and quite helpful with booking our tours and giving us directions.

We didn't try the hotel restaurant, but had two very good breakfasts and some good coffee at the cafe across the street, called "C is for Cookie".

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susy_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Odinsve for 2 nights in June 2014 and really enjoyed it. We found it quite hard to choose a hotel since we read a lot of reviews of other hotels which seemed noisy, not central and old.

Hotel Odinsve is located right in the heart of the city and you can reach everything by foot. The staff is really helpful and suggested amazing restaurants!

We stayed on the top floor and the room was quite big with a lot of light (hard to fall asleep in summer though...), a big balcony with views over the city and compared to other hotel rooms we experienced in Iceland not even that noisy! It was clean and we really liked the beds.

A big plus was the breakfast - sou find everything you would want and they even make waffles! :)

Our overall impression was really good and we would definitely recommend Hotel Odinsve to others.

+
spacious and clean rooms
location! really central
friendly staff
breakast is really great


-
one night we had some people partying in the room next to us at 3 a.m. and it sadly took the staff more than 40mins to tell them to be quiet. after that they left the hotel but since a lot of other guests complained as well (extremely loud music, jumping around and screaming) we thought they could have done something a little bit faster.

Room Tip: We had the room on floor 4 - even with a big balcony! Was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathrinPhillipp A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
603 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odinsve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odinsve

Address: Odinstorg Thorsgata 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $168 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Odinsve 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Odinsve, a boutique hotel in downtown Reykjavik, offers quality four star accommodation in the residential area of 101 - the heart of Iceland's capital. The hotel has a total of 50 rooms. The decor encapsulates a Nordic ambiance whilst offering a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. The hotel prides itself on offering an impeccable service with emphasis on comfort and personal attention. Within the hotel you will find SNAPS BISTRO which offers top quality food and a variaty of good vines and coctails in a lovely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Odinsve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odinsve Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing