We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in an Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Odinsve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Odinsve
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in an Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four days at the beginning of February. From the moment we arrived the staff were excellent, friendly and always able to give advice, whether its trips, restaurants or bars.

We had a room on the 4th floor, clean, tidy and minimal but then we were only there in an evening to sleep. The shower was fantastic, and do not be surprised if you smell sulphur, it's normal.

Self service breakfast was straightforward with cereal, meats, cheese, salmon, boiled eggs, bread and fruit on offer. With the usual juice, tea, coffee and milk. You can even make your own waffles. A healthy breakfast to set you up for the day.

Finally the location is first rate, not on the outskirts, but not too close to the centre so that the late night revellers don't keep you awake: plenty of bars stay open until the early hours! You can be in centre or even at the harbour with just a 10 min walk, assuming you don't stop at the many shops along the way.

Overall we thought Hotel Odinsve was a great unassuming hotel with friendly staff, a great location and good value. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone on a short visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taitmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    511
    115
    29
    14
See reviews for
203
558
111
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at the hotel end of January as part of a package holiday.. The hotel is right in the center.. The reception is very nice, and the staff very friendly and helpful.. They will take time to discuss with you things to do, place to eat, where to go..etc.etc.. Room had a 70s style old fashioned look about it.. but very nice, large with french doors going to fire exit/smoking terrasse.. Breakfast was keeping up all day, fresh salmon, rye bread and runny egg.. With plenty of cereals, and fruits.. A drink in the evening at the bar is also very nice and the restaurant is always full.. Will recommend this hotel to anyone.. Very good value for money..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anais333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in January having been booked here by Inntravel. The hotel is ideally located for exploring the city and close to the Bus Station for transfers. We are used to staying in less than luxurious hotels and found the Odinsve more than adequate. We were on the second floor. The room was basic, clean, equipped with everything we needed, and most importantly a comfy bed, good duvets and pillows, and quiet. Plenty of storage space in the room. The bathroom was a little small, but fine for the 2 of us oldies. The shower was fine once you get over the sulphur smell of the hot water.
Reception was manned 24 hours by various staff, all good English speakers, who were happy to book tours, restaurants etc. the breakfasts were more than adequate, typically Scandinavian with cereals, fruit, various breads, youghurts and local skyr, cheese, ham, smoked salmon, eggs and waffles to order. The restaurant is busy in the evening. They take bookings until 7 then you just turn up and wait with a beer or whatever at the bar until a table comes vacant.
Don't expect American 4 star comfort. It's ideal for a short break and far better than being on the outskirts

Room Tip: 201 was very quiet with a view of the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBMLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just back from a weekend break in Reykjavik and stayed at this hotel. We had two room on the first and third floor. There were four of us and we got a cab from Keflavik to the hotel for 14000 Krona. The Hotel from the outside if showing some signs of age but the reception iside is fine.

The rooms are clean and simple and the staff very friendly and helpful. You can get breakfast in the morning next door and the food and staff there were excellent - we went out to hunt down breakfast elsewhere, but Reykjavik late January doesn't rise till at least ten oclock so stick with the hotel for breakfast.

If you're expecting 4* luxury this hotel is not right for you. I'd say this is a very good three star. Big double bed and separate duvets were neat, especially as my wife is prone to pinch all the covers most nights.

Our third floor room had an excellent view of the city and had everything you'd expect, and tea/coffee in the room is great when you've been out exploring.

From the hotel to the harbour is about a fifteen minute walk but once on the main street you can drop into cafes restaurants and tourist info offices. At the bottom of the hill and to the right is Greyline tours, where we arranged Blue Lagoon and Golden Circle tours, which were great.

One thing to note. I'd think again if you've got a family and were planning to stay here. In both rooms there were loose electrical wires coming from sockets in the walls - not good if you've got inquisitive kids! Apart from this( which hopefully Odinsve will fix upon reading this) I'd recommend this hotel as a good base for exploring Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Third floor proved better than first for our two rooms. The third floor room 310 had a good view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel, not what I would class as 4 star by any means, but very pleasant and comfortable. Don't be put off by the exterior when you arrive, it gets much better as you go in to a nice, smart reception area. The staff are very friendly, polite and helpful, much like everyone we met in Iceland. The rooms are of a decent standard,if a bit noisy, but they are clean with very comfortable beds and pillows. We felt they were a little on the small size, as was the bathroom and shower cubicle, but they are perfectly adequate. In case you didn't realise, the water here smells of sulphur...not a hotel specific comment at all, just be aware! The hotel, much like a lot of the bars, offers free wifi, perfectly capable of spurting a Skype conversation, and the hotel restaurant is fine. Breakfast consists of eggs, cold meat and cheese, and make your own Belgian waffles. It's perfectly acceptable, if not ground breaking. The restaurant scene in Iceland is superb, but apart from breakfast we didn't eat here. All in all I would happily recommend this hotel, if on a budget of sorts and not looking for the luxury of the Radisson Blu. The location is great, a very pleasant and quiet street, just off the main shopping street.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just stayed here and thought the staff and the location were the best features. The staff was really friendly and helped us book a tour, recommended a restaurant and even looked up the Northern Lights forecast for us.
And the location is great- quiet street but right near all the action.
Our room had a safe and free WiFi, also great features.

But note- if you book an apartment, it is located elsewhere. I booked on Expedia and that was never stated anywhere (good thing for online reviews!). Once I read that I switched to a King room which was really large.The bathroom was small (loved the heated towel rack!) but we weren't in the hotel too much so it was not a big deal.

Tip- if you are getting picked up early for a tour many breakfast places are closed. But we found Bernhofts bakari around the corner open early with yummy breakfast treats.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FattyMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The decor in this hotel is simple and modern. The room has a nice homey feel. If you look closely, you'll notice things that are getting old or dirty but I am not expecting a luxury hotel so I am fine with that. For mgmt though, I think there are some simple fixes you can do to remove the minor negatives. For example, in my room (403), there is an area rug that is so dirty that even the pattern is fading and the stains are visible. You've got nice hardware floor, why not remove or replace the dirty area rug? That will make the room look new again.

Little things I love about this hotel:

1) Love the bright lighting. Many hotels opt for dim romantic lighting; I love nice bright rooms.
2) Love the heated towel rack. Since I'm here in the winter, enough said!
3) Enjoy the coffee and tea selection.
4) Also love the little chocolates you put out at the front desk. Yummy.
5) The free wifi is great. It allows me to stay connected at the end of the day to post pictures on facebook and write this review :-)
6) The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful.

Here are some info that other guests may find helpful:

1) The hotel is a block or so away from the main shopping area with many restaurant options. You don't really need to have breakfast at the hotel restaurant unless you want to try it.

2) Flybus (the airport shuttle) drops you off at this hotel so that's nice.

3) Most tours have the option to pick you up at this hotel, another plus.

4) The hotel is not close to the BSI Central bus station. If you need to go there for some reasons, you would want to take the city bus. The bus fare is currently at 350 kr one way but if you plan to take the bus at least 3 times in a given day, it would be worth it to purchase a one-day pass for 1000 kr. One-day / three-day bus passes are available at the Tourist Info Center locations.

5) At the Tourist Info Center desk (there is one in the airport), pick up an area map with the bus route on the back. It's handy if you want to explore further than the immediate hotel area.

6) The nearest bus station to this hotel is on Laekartorg. It's a 10 minutes walk on up/down the hill. If you have trouble walking, you may want to stay somewhere closer to Laekartorg where it is flat there. For example, Radisson Blu or the Central hotel.

7) If you want a thermal pool experience, you can take a tour to the Blue Lagoon which is a heavily advertised geothermal spa and can be expensive (~3600 kr for the transportation or ~8000 for the bus and admission to the Blue Lagoon). Or for an alternative down-to-earth and very affordable option, go to the Laekartorg bus stop and take bus #14 to Laugardaslang, the city's largest public thermal pool and hot tubs. Admission is 550kr per person, plus 700kr for the round trip bus fare. Be sure to bring your own bathing suit and towel and you'll end up with the same hot water, without the fancy spa environment.

Room Tip: I loved my corner room on the top floor with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MROMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odinsve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odinsve

Property: Hotel Odinsve
Address: Odinstorg Thorsgata 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Odinsve 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Odinsve, a boutique hotel in downtown Reykjavik, offers quality four star accommodation in the residential area of 101 - the heart of Iceland's capital. The hotel has a total of 50 rooms. The decor encapsulates a Nordic ambiance whilst offering a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. The hotel prides itself on offering an impeccable service with emphasis on comfort and personal attention. Within the hotel you will find SNAPS BISTRO which offers top quality food and a variaty of good vines and coctails in a lovely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Odinsve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odinsve Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing