We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great location, average rooms”
Review of Hotel Odinsve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Odinsve
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Melksham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location, average rooms”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel, not what I would class as 4 star by any means, but very pleasant and comfortable. Don't be put off by the exterior when you arrive, it gets much better as you go in to a nice, smart reception area. The staff are very friendly, polite and helpful, much like everyone we met in Iceland. The rooms are of a decent standard,if a bit noisy, but they are clean with very comfortable beds and pillows. We felt they were a little on the small size, as was the bathroom and shower cubicle, but they are perfectly adequate. In case you didn't realise, the water here smells of sulphur...not a hotel specific comment at all, just be aware! The hotel, much like a lot of the bars, offers free wifi, perfectly capable of spurting a Skype conversation, and the hotel restaurant is fine. Breakfast consists of eggs, cold meat and cheese, and make your own Belgian waffles. It's perfectly acceptable, if not ground breaking. The restaurant scene in Iceland is superb, but apart from breakfast we didn't eat here. All in all I would happily recommend this hotel, if on a budget of sorts and not looking for the luxury of the Radisson Blu. The location is great, a very pleasant and quiet street, just off the main shopping street.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    511
    117
    29
    14
See reviews for
204
560
112
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just stayed here and thought the staff and the location were the best features. The staff was really friendly and helped us book a tour, recommended a restaurant and even looked up the Northern Lights forecast for us.
And the location is great- quiet street but right near all the action.
Our room had a safe and free WiFi, also great features.

But note- if you book an apartment, it is located elsewhere. I booked on Expedia and that was never stated anywhere (good thing for online reviews!). Once I read that I switched to a King room which was really large.The bathroom was small (loved the heated towel rack!) but we weren't in the hotel too much so it was not a big deal.

Tip- if you are getting picked up early for a tour many breakfast places are closed. But we found Bernhofts bakari around the corner open early with yummy breakfast treats.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FattyMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The decor in this hotel is simple and modern. The room has a nice homey feel. If you look closely, you'll notice things that are getting old or dirty but I am not expecting a luxury hotel so I am fine with that. For mgmt though, I think there are some simple fixes you can do to remove the minor negatives. For example, in my room (403), there is an area rug that is so dirty that even the pattern is fading and the stains are visible. You've got nice hardware floor, why not remove or replace the dirty area rug? That will make the room look new again.

Little things I love about this hotel:

1) Love the bright lighting. Many hotels opt for dim romantic lighting; I love nice bright rooms.
2) Love the heated towel rack. Since I'm here in the winter, enough said!
3) Enjoy the coffee and tea selection.
4) Also love the little chocolates you put out at the front desk. Yummy.
5) The free wifi is great. It allows me to stay connected at the end of the day to post pictures on facebook and write this review :-)
6) The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful.

Here are some info that other guests may find helpful:

1) The hotel is a block or so away from the main shopping area with many restaurant options. You don't really need to have breakfast at the hotel restaurant unless you want to try it.

2) Flybus (the airport shuttle) drops you off at this hotel so that's nice.

3) Most tours have the option to pick you up at this hotel, another plus.

4) The hotel is not close to the BSI Central bus station. If you need to go there for some reasons, you would want to take the city bus. The bus fare is currently at 350 kr one way but if you plan to take the bus at least 3 times in a given day, it would be worth it to purchase a one-day pass for 1000 kr. One-day / three-day bus passes are available at the Tourist Info Center locations.

5) At the Tourist Info Center desk (there is one in the airport), pick up an area map with the bus route on the back. It's handy if you want to explore further than the immediate hotel area.

6) The nearest bus station to this hotel is on Laekartorg. It's a 10 minutes walk on up/down the hill. If you have trouble walking, you may want to stay somewhere closer to Laekartorg where it is flat there. For example, Radisson Blu or the Central hotel.

7) If you want a thermal pool experience, you can take a tour to the Blue Lagoon which is a heavily advertised geothermal spa and can be expensive (~3600 kr for the transportation or ~8000 for the bus and admission to the Blue Lagoon). Or for an alternative down-to-earth and very affordable option, go to the Laekartorg bus stop and take bus #14 to Laugardaslang, the city's largest public thermal pool and hot tubs. Admission is 550kr per person, plus 700kr for the round trip bus fare. Be sure to bring your own bathing suit and towel and you'll end up with the same hot water, without the fancy spa environment.

Room Tip: I loved my corner room on the top floor with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MROMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked a double deluxe and were a little disappointed with the room. The hotel's website makes the rooms look lush and spacious. While the room was certainly acceptable, it wasn't lush or spacious- it was just a step above utilitarian. That being said, I think that's the way of things with Reykjavik hotels.

Pros: The hotel staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean and bright.

Cons: no drawers in the bedrooms, no counter-space in the bathroom. Actually, if I recall correctly, there weren't hooks in the bathroom either.

Parking: While the hotel doesn't have their own parking, there is a paid lot right across the street and free street parking right around the corner. We didn't have any problems with this.

All in all, we would stay there again, but would appreciate it more now knowing what to expect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phosphora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here just before Christmas with my girlfriend for 3 nights and we thought it was perfect. Although Reykjavik isn't the biggest City, we found the location perfect as we could walk everywhere. Wasn't even far from the Reykjavik Tours bus stop. When we got to the hotel, I don't know how quiet they were but they gave us a free upgrade on our room to a Deluxe Room, which was superb. The breakfast was great, it was a buffet but had nice choices and couldn't fault it. The reception were helpful and welcoming and had no trouble in sorting a trip to The Blue Lagoon for us just the night before. Didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but apparently it was highly reccomended.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in one of their apartment rooms (601) which is a few blocks away from the main hotel. The location is great being in the middle of the city and very close to the downtown attractions and restaurants. The apartment was very good. There was plenty of space, clean and with two bedrooms suited us well. There are good views of the main church and as we were there over new year we could see a lot of fireworks. The self catering facilities were fine. It was on the third floor with no lift so getting the suitcases up could be a problem for some people. There is a thriving night club in the street below which is active into the early hours. It disturbed us the first night, but did not cause us a problem on other nights. This could be a problem for some people though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leefarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent New Years weekend in Reykjavik at the Hotel Odinsve. The room was small but nice, the bathroom was very small. We had a room on the back of the hotel (218) which looked into a common space between buildings. There was no view but the location made for a very quiet room. The hotel staff was fantastic! Everyone at the reception desk was friendly and helpful. The bar/restaurant off the lobby (Snaps) was also very good.

The location of the hotel is central to all of the sights and shopping in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRVLALOT_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
Hotel Holt
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odinsve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odinsve

Property: Hotel Odinsve
Address: Odinstorg Thorsgata 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Odinsve 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Odinsve, a boutique hotel in downtown Reykjavik, offers quality four star accommodation in the residential area of 101 - the heart of Iceland's capital. The hotel has a total of 50 rooms. The decor encapsulates a Nordic ambiance whilst offering a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. The hotel prides itself on offering an impeccable service with emphasis on comfort and personal attention. Within the hotel you will find SNAPS BISTRO which offers top quality food and a variaty of good vines and coctails in a lovely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Odinsve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odinsve Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing