We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Odinsve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Odinsve
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nonsequential nights at the beginning and end of our trip to Iceland. It was all arranged by our travel agent, so we really had no say in where we were staying.

The hotel itself is very quiet, which I appreciated. The rooms that we had were as different as could be. OUr first night was a large corner room on the 1st floor. We had plenty of room to relax after our flight and some walking around the city. There were large windows and a door that opened, letting in lots of fresh air. Our 2nd room was on the 2nd floor, and reminded me of an attic gable room with the sloped ceiling. It was smaller, and not as well ventilated as the first room. There was only one tiny window, and it barely let in any air. In addition, the bathroom was quite tiny.

We did enjoy the breakfast there. On our final stay, we even had arrangements made for a take away breakfast, as we had an early morning transfer to the airport, and would be unable to have breakfast first.

The staff was helpful and friendly, even giving us a map with the hotel marked on it so we could walk around the city without getting too lost.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    509
    114
    29
    14
See reviews for
201
557
110
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great hotel. The staff was incredibly helpful and kind, the food at the restaurant was excellent, and the rooms were clean and quite comfortable. A great place to stay when everyone you're with doesn't speak Icelandic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Odinsve for three non-sequential nights ( between excursions to Alkureyri and the southeast contryside), in three different rooms and had conflicting experiences. Room 208, reached by a confusingly circuitous route and without a bathtub and, did not leave a favorable impression e.g. there was mildew in the showere. Rooms 406 and 306, however, were great, spotless, comfortably furnished and accessesd, although both presented the dilemma of tolerating the heat or allowing noise from the street and restaurant below to infiltrate. The front desk staff(s) were inconsistent ( in attitude), ranging from the extraordinarily gracious to the droll and disinterested. Of course the hotel's location was perfect for strolling to the popular shopping, dining, and nightlife as well as to Harpa and the harbor. The breakfast may have been typical of Icelandic hotels, but it suffered in comparison to breakfasts at comparable hotels in the U.S. or U.K., e.g. paltry choice of fresh fruit, juices, pastries, cooked dishes (porridge), fish(!!!!). The breakfast attendants were almost unpleasantly distant, almost an incarnation of the Icelander satirized in the comedy "How To Become Icelandic In 60 Minutes" running at Harpa!

Room Tip: Avoid roos on "split level."
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SALMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Great location. We had a double with two beds with a partial view of the harbor. Short walk to shopping areas, harbor etc. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were tiny even by Nordic standards. There can be quite a bit of street noise on weekend nights given the midnight sun and the restaurant next door. Other than Garthar (spelling) who was sharp and knowledgeable, the rest of the front desk staff acted like they would rather be somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westcoastboy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

The location is definitely what sells this hotel. It's within 10 minutes walk of anywhere you could want to go in Reykjavik. Beware, some "central" hotels are actually pretty far out. Odinsve is truly in the heart of the city, though, while still on a quiet street so you can get some sleep.

The room was a good size, spotlessly clean and had a very comfortable bed. We also had a beautiful view of the Cathedral. The shower was gorgeous, with a choice between a standard shower head or rain fixture - perfect after a long day touring.

Breakfast is a little pricey, but it is a nice spread with skir (delicious, traditional Iceland dish, similar to a very thick yogurt and beautiful with fruit), fresh fruit, fruit salad, hard and soft boiled eggs (both cold), cheese, cold meats, bell peppers, cucumber, cereals, juices, milk, tea, coffee and the most gorgeous fresh bread.

The front desk staff are outstanding. Easily among the friendliest and most helpful that we've met. They are only too happy to explain tour options, book taxis, make dinner reservations and recommend the best bars and restaurants that cater to locals, not just the tourists.

It was perfect for our 3 day stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelHappyX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacka, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Odinsve in May. The hotel has only 44 rooms, each looking different. The staff was wonderful, polite, helpful and very complaisant towards all their quests. The room was always cleaned in the morning, that is good, before you came back to the hotel after you have explored the surroundings. The breakfast we also found very good. The hotel is also situated in the centre of Reykjavik, so you do not have to walk very long to visit all the restaurants this city have or all the shops on the main street. Also very close to the Hallgrimskirkja (the big church you can see all over the city).
We are thinking of going back to Reykjavik next year and we are, of course, going to book the same hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KerstinElisabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Things got a little difficult when we had to book 4 rooms in a hotel in Reykjavik and we ended up in this hotel - booking rooms as well as 1 of their apartment.

I stayed in the apartment. It actually looks how it is advertised in the website. Yet there are a bunch of issues, some rather minor like :

It's abt 300 meters from the hotel, with the breakfast served in the hotel, the double bed is 1401cm wide at most, which is hardly enough as a single bed - and happily I was sleeping alone on it. There is only 1 bathroom, as well as 1 toilet, in the same room to make matters worse. Quite inconvenient for 2 bedrooms apartments.

Than there are more serious issues - my room was on the 1st floor close to street level and very noisy, first night I heard music almost all night and second night could hear the people talking in the street even when they walked by - strange and very unpleasant. To make matters worse the room was *very* hot, and opening the window just made the noise worse. Had a terrible sleep during my stay there.

Also Breakfast was poor with no service whatsoever, there was 2 small dry croissant on the buffet when we arrived the first day, none on the second. Nobody at the bar and the coffee machine not started yet, hence even if we wanted to pay for it , there was no way to get an espresso.

As of driving and parking around the apartment, the building is in the narrowest part of a narrow downtown street, and it far less than convenient. From far, the worst times of an otherwise wonderful icelandic visit were linked to this hotel.

Note as well that my friends stayed in a standard room inside the hotel and they were satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kojis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odinsve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odinsve

Property: Hotel Odinsve
Address: Odinstorg Thorsgata 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Odinsve 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Odinsve, a boutique hotel in downtown Reykjavik, offers quality four star accommodation in the residential area of 101 - the heart of Iceland's capital. The hotel has a total of 50 rooms. The decor encapsulates a Nordic ambiance whilst offering a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. The hotel prides itself on offering an impeccable service with emphasis on comfort and personal attention. Within the hotel you will find SNAPS BISTRO which offers top quality food and a variaty of good vines and coctails in a lovely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Odinsve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odinsve Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing