We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
152 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed December 20, 2006

Stayed here with the Icelandair deal earlier this year.

brilliant location , lovely breakfast buffet and clean room. very nice although the icelandic people do not really have much of a sense of humour so i can see how the staff may rub people up the wrong way

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — pay for the lift up to the top of the cathedral opposite the hotel
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    583
    235
    70
    37
See reviews for
160
670
141
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2006

Have just returned from a weekend break and Reykjavik, and would have no problem recommending this hotel to others. Yes, as other reviewers have commented, the rooms are a little on the small side (in fact, we suspected that we had been allocated a single room by accident!), but superb in every other respect. You can't fault the location - within easy walking distance of the nightlife, but far away to ensure a good nights sleep! The room was very warm - a necessity when it's -12 degrees and snowing outside - breakfast basic but plentiful, free hot drinks all day and friendly, helpful reception staff who spoke perfect English. It's not luxury, but excellent value for a weekend away in one of the most expensive cities in the world!

  • Liked — Great location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Room a little on the small side
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn2920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2006

After reading the reviews on this site, I was fully expecting a terrible stay... but then what do you expect from a cheap hotel on a city break? But if I was the owner I would seriously think about suing! It was nothing like what had been described.
Breakfasts were basic but plentiful, the 24 hour free hot drinks and juice in the breakfast room are a blessing.....
The staff were really helpful and friendly (although some more than others), offering to book trips, recommending resturants which were just as lovely as they said etc.
The room was on the small side, as was the bathroom, but plenty big enough for what you need to do in there!
I do take on one point that there is very little room to hang damp clothes, but we managed.
Altogether it was a fantastic loocation, fantastic view, really good value for money, particularly for Iceland! I'd have no qualms recommending it to people.

  • Liked — 24 hour tea and coffee!
  • Disliked — attitude of some reception staff (definately not all!)
  • Tips/Secrets — drink vodka, not imports!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank CEMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2006

I stayed at Leifur Eirikson 2 years ago and i was a little concerned about the reviews i read before my return visit as the hotel i remembered didn't seem to match the reviews.
i agree that the hotel is basic but do you really go to Iceland for a luxury hotel?

The hotel room was quite small but the bed was extremely comfortable. Yes the bathroom is tiny but i didn't have any problems waiting for the shower to warm up as reported in another review. (Maybe they could add hairdryers in the rooms )

Breakfast is quite simple but you can certainly have enough to keep you going for the morning. It was quite busy in the hotel when we were there and we had to wait for a seat but not for long!

the staff are extremely helpful. The speak excellent English and will book tours for you. An example of their good customer service is that they will lay out breakfast at 4.30 AM for the people who have to get early flights!

Yes, the room doesn't have tea/coffe making facilities but you can help yourself to hot drinks/water/juice at all times of the day and night from the breakfast/bar area.

Overall, i would recommend this hotel to friends/family. it is clean and warm (a good thing if you go to Iceland in October). i would tell them that it is basic but for the price we paid i would not have expected much more.

  • Liked — great bed
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — go to the blue lagoon for ultimate chill out experience
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sweatpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2006

We stayed in this hotel last year and didn't enjoy the experience. We arrived well after midnight to find ourselves allocated a tiny room on the top floor. (no lifts) We asked for assistance in carrying our bags up the four flights of stairs and were told in a rather unfriendly manner that none was available.
Breakfast was a disappointing affair with very little choice presented in a very cramped environment. At best this hotel felt like a youth hostel and at the most generous we would categorise this as a two star hotel.
Otherwise Iceland is great with tremendous venues e.g. the blue lagoon and the geysers and of course the glaciers and waterfalls.
The hotel is well located for all the sights but a major disappointment particularly given the price, although the latter appears to be a feature of Iceland generally.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizabethF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#24 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Property: Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing