We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe their web site - it is a dingy hostel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
North London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't believe their web site - it is a dingy hostel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

Went on a 3 day package offered by Icelandair. Generally can recommend it but having looked at Trip Finder for hotels, we decided to upgrade to the Leifur Eriksson. Good central location and the information & photos provided by the hotel on their site supported our decision. DON’T BELIEVE IT! On arrival by an efficient Flybus plus we were given the keys to our room on the third floor. There is no lift and no offer to help with cases. Only one member of staff on duty and he was overwhelmed by all of us arriving at the same time from the same flight. The room was like a cupboard. The single beds were about 2’ 6” wide, the sink is what you would expect in a toilet and was in an enclosure that included the shower. The whole atmosphere can at best be described as dingy and tired. On complaining we were offered a room in their annex, across a main road although all services were only available in their main building. This second room was below pavement level and while larger, was equally dingy with a cracked sink in the wash room. On complaining again, to the hotel’s credit they agreed to get us transferred to another hotel and they paid for the taxi to transfer us.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mbrtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    564
    229
    70
    37
See reviews for
156
648
138
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

my friend and i stayed for three nights at this hotel in Reykjavik in february 2010. We were both keen to see the northern lights and had booked a tour to see them. however there was a misunderstanding about start times and the bus left without us!

obviously we were terribly disappointed. however the receptionist phoned the owner of the hotel who arrived within ten minutes and, seeing how genuinely upset we were, showed us true icelandic hospitality, personally taking us out in her car on a cold night so that we could see them- and in doing so made a good holiday into a really really special one.

in my experience there are not many hotel owners who would do this. Sibba- the hotel owner- not only knows how to look after her guests but she does it with humour, warmth and real style.

i wish the hotel all the best of luck in the future and would recommend it to other visitors. It's not the grandest hotel in the world but it's friendly, family-run and the antithesis of all the bland, faceless characterless corporate hotel chains and has genuine heart! I am already recommending it to other friends here in the united kingdom.

and i look forward to going back myself to see Sibba realise her dream of an "organic hotel"!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
279 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

We have just returned from Iceland and this hotel, the location is fantastic opposite the church and ideal for exploring Reykjavik. The staff were extremely helpful with arranging tours and booking car hire for us which was appreciated. Our room (1st floor) overlooking the church was quite small and basic but it was clean and cleaned daily. The view although to die for, had the downside of being quite noisy especially on Friday and Saturday night. Tea and coffee available all day and night, breakfast had a fair selection of things to eat.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simba3262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

We arrived at this hotel expecting the worst after reading reviews on trip advisor....
We were pleasantly surprised on arrival. We were given a room on the 3rd floor with direct view of the beautiful church. The rooms are very small and very very basic...bathroom even smaller...The rooms are not sound proof at all so you hear everything happening around. We changed our room after the 1st night to a room at the back. This gave us a couple of sound free nights. My advise is dont go for rooms with views, when booking request for a quiet room. As mentioned in several reviews, please dont expect 4 star standards... you pay 2 star prices and you get 2 star facilities. The only negative of the place is the rooms. Breakfast is ok... a standard Continental breakfast. The reception staff is very good. There is one at the reception who is extremely good and helpful and another who does not like to talk but helpful nevertheless.
The best of this hotel is the location. It is perfect !.. a few minutes walk to everything. The town centre is only 5-10 minute walk and there are plenty of restaurants, bars and pubs.....
If you are going to spend a lot of time in the hotel, then this place will not be good but if you are use as a base to do your travel and sightseeing, then definetely a best place to be....If it is a short stay, I would go back again simply for the location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

Just returned from a three night stay in this hotel. The hotel is basic in the extreme and very tired. Our room was on the top floor, up several flights of stairs - no lift so quite difficult with a heavy case. The room was at the back under the eaves so you could only stand up in half the room which was tiny anyway. The en suite was up a step in in one corner of this tiny room and the shower was 'wet room' style, but nothing modern about this, the drain was a hole in the lino on the floor so you were paddling in the room after every shower. The beds in our room were a tiny 2'6'' wide and the bedding grim. Our pillows were so stained and dirty that the stains showed through the pillow slips, it was quite upsetting to see pillows this bad. We asked for them to be changed but the replacements were only marginally better. The coverlet on my bed was also dirty so I did not use it. On the last night we were woken at 1.00am by drums and singing, coming from the street outside. It went on for some time not good when we had to be up at 3.30am for our flight. On the plus side the location is brilliant and there is coffee and tea available all day but I think this is because there is no room service. The breakfast is adequate, no table cloths or anything like that but ok. Staff were helpful and happy to sort out tours etc. For us though clean bedding and a decent shower are very important we were glad we only had three nights. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaC39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights, and with a degree of trepidation having read the mixed reviews. But I thought it was fine for a brief stay.

So my approach to reviewing this place is as follows:

- If you want a 5 star place - don't stay here
- If you want a 2/3 star place with 2/3 star rates but 5 star facilities - don't stay here

But if you want somewhere central and reasonably priced, this is fine. Yes, it is on the basic side, and the bathroom was a bit shabby. But the bathroom and bedroom were clean, lots of hot water and the bedroom was well heated. We had 2 twin beds - not exactly what my husband and I wanted but I knew we might get a twin room when I booked it, so we weren't going to moan about it, and just pushed the beds together. They were comforrtnale and we didnt notice any noise from other rooms at night - and I am such a light sleeper I normally do notice that kind of thing The bedroom wasn't huge, definitely on the small-ish side, but then we were out and about most of the time so this wasn't an issue for us.

Personally I think the comparisons with hostels and police cells I have seen in other reviews are too harsh, unless there are other (smaller, even more basic) rooms in the hotel that werent the same as ours.

There is a help-yourself buffet breakfast in the morning - toast, tea, coffee, cereal, fruit, some meat and cheese. Again, you wouldn't give it Michelin stars, but it was fine.

The location is awesome. A lot of other hotels are a lot further out of the city centre, so we felt quite lucky to be staying here. Just a few minutes walk to shops and restaurants plus galleries etc. Only ten minutes walk to the bus station too if you need to get a bus around.

The staff we spoke to answered all our questions satisfactorily.

So I have given it 4/5 as I think it is good value for money and because of the location.
I would happily stay here again if I was going back to Reykjavik...unless I win the lottery and then I might go for a 5 star place!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLouLouey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
224 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

A great location for the town, but there are other hotels out there. although the hotel staff were kind of helpful for which we were very grateful, otherwise things would have been a lot different !!!!!
the beds were not VERY clean and the rooms were VERY basic ! hostel like, we were lucky enough to change rooms to a block across the road which was better but very basic however it made our stay more comfortable.
there is a smell of sulphur which you acclimatise to whilst your there, it is quite strong when you are in the shower, oddly you can still sense the smell through your shampoo at home !!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdcsmith2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#47 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#9 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Property: Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing