We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but that's all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Well, most people admire the good location of the hotel. Ok, it is really good located right in the center and even on Friday nights no noise can be recognized from the outside. Also the church is always a good point to get back to the hotel.

However, the rooms were comparable to youth hostels, but four times the price.... the Bathrooms and appartment are really tiny and the furnitures are really old and definitely not good. There were also no blinds in the rooms and the curtains were not sufficient to get the room dark. The walls are very thin and you can understand every word of your neighbors. This is really embarassing when they cry the whole night, and you have to get up at 4:30am to catch the flight. Maybe the rooms in the main building are better, but in the second house they are definitely not worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weekend_Traveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,248 - 1,254 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2009

We stayed at the Leifur Eiriksson for two separate nights in early June. We found the rooms a bit on the small size and there was no lift to get luggage up to the higher floors, but what it lacked in those two areas it more than made up for in location and service of their staff. The location across from the big church makes it incredibly easy to find and a great base to explore Reykjavik from -- plus the free parking is an added bonus. The staff were fantastic to us -- when we couldn't get a third night at the hotel due to the World Cup qualifying round, they called all over Reykjavik and found us another hotel at the same price and made the reservations for us -- something they really didn't have to do! They were incredibly accomodating and even offered to chill some champagne for us in celebration of our big trip. I would definitely stay at the Leifur Eiriksson again in the future if I ever make it back to Reykjavik!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysterychix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

The Leifur Eriksson is a bit of a bargain hotel; bathrooms are tiny and have no separate shower stall; rooms are just a tad bigger than the bed; there are no blackout curtains so the rooms don't get dark in the summer. Also, the hotel is in two buildings; you may be across the street from the main lobby, which is the only place with wireless internet.

However, the location - right across the street from a massive church that one can see from across town - can't be beat. Far enough away from the noise of the weekend clubbing that one can sleep (although the walls aren't particularly thick), it's still only a fifteen minute walk from the hotel to the maritime museum and the whale/puffin watching boats. Everyone in town knows where the church is, so you can't get lost.

Also, the hotel staff is excellent. They are helpful at any time of night or day and go the extra mile to make you comfortable - they let us check in at 8AM just as we got off the plane even though it required shuffling around some of the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

The Leifur Eiriksson is set on a hill, a short walk from the main shopping street in Reykjavik. It is in a square opposite the Hallgrims Church, a good landmark, which is covered in scaffolding at the moment for refurbishment. Our room was small but very clean and perfectly adequate for a 3 night stay. Traffic noise from the square was minimal. Breakfast was included in the price, and consisted of cereals, breads, sald items (tomatoes, cucumber), ham, cheese and fish. Coffee and tea are available 24/7 in the breakfast room.The staff were helpful and friendly. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gertrudesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

we spent 4 nights in this hotel, the room was on the small side but very clean with a nice bathroom. fab view of the church. excellent location with helpful staff. Especially liked the communial area (with free hot drinks/squash) and breakfast was worth getting up for!
Eating out is a bit more expensive than UK, look out for discount cards in the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMMC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Just returned from a 3 night break in Iceland, and we stayed in Hotel Leifur Eiriksson. We arrived at approximately 1am. I did email ahead to make sure checking in at that time was ok but I need not have worried as they are open 24hrs and there were several other people checking in at the same time as us.

We were given a room on the second floor which was a decent size, the bed was comfortable and everything was clean and tidy. It was at the back of the hotel so the view out of the window was only of the building across the street but since the Hallgrimskirkja has scaffolding covering it from top to toe then I wasn't missing anything. They is no tea / coffee making facilities in the room but in the breakfast room downstairs you can drink as much as you like for free.

There was no shower tray in the bathroom, and the water goes straight onto the floor. This isn't as bad as it sounds, the shower curtain manages to keep most of it in. The cleaners did a very good job though, and a few hours after I'd had a shower you couldn't tell as the floor was dry. The shower did take a few minutes to warm up, and there is the slight smell of eggs. It isn't so bad its over powering though and is something you'll find in all bathrooms and toilets across Iceland where hot water is present.

The hotel was very helpful with booking tours and they also booked the Flybus back to the airport for us. As the Flybus wasn't collecting us till 1.30pm, and check out time was 11.00am they let us leave our bags downstairs until collection time. The hotel staff spoke excellent English, we never had a problem communicating.

The hotel was in a great location. You can never get lost, as you only have to make your way towards the Hallgrimskirkja which you can see from almost anywhere in town. It was about a 10-15 minute walk to the harbour, and the nearest restaurants. We also walked to the Perlan, which probably took us about 30 minutes.

Overall very pleased with the hotel, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nerysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Stayed at the Leifur Eiriksson as part of an Icelandair package in March 09. Was given a lovely loft room, which had a lovely view of the church on one side (pity about the renovation works) and town on the other. Although the bathroom was small and the room on the cosier side, it was perfect for my needs. The staff were friendly and there was a shop across the road, which sold basic necessities (and stamps).
The included breakfast was basic, but good and there was free coffee, tea and juice all day. The location was central - across the road from the church, at the top of one of the main shopping streets and less than ten minutes to town.
The bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet at night, enabling a good night's rest. As noted, the bathroom was small but functional and the hot water was constant and water pressure was good.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Leifur Eiriksson. Although it's certainly a budget hotel without add-ons such as room service, it is comfortable, central and relaxed. What more could you want? I would definitely stay again and would recommend to any friends travelling to Iceland.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saschi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#27 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,298 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,145 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#42 of 54 in Reykjavik
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Lind
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
974 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#13 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,205 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $133 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik opposite the famous Hallgrims Church. Our hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik and there is free parking opposite our hotel . We offer 47 rooms all with private bathroom facilities and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing