We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel although overbooked and we had to go to a nearby hotel on our first night but they had a room ready for us the next morning , the room was small but spotless and cleaned every day , as most others say the breakfast is great and really sets you up for the day the 24 hour tea and coffee is very much appreciated , handy too for nearby shops and restaurants would definately use again for a short break and would avoid the big name hotels as they tend to be a bit out of town

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Albaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    586
    236
    70
    37
See reviews for
161
673
143
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Morden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Functional Mini Hotel B&B. Clean rooms and all fixtures worked. Breakfast is of a continental style, would say if you are looking for a cooked breakfast go into town. Staff are very welcoming and are on hand to help with your needs if it be extra bedding or a help with your luggage. The winning point of this Mini Hotel B&B is location and you are a 10 minute walk from the town all the bars and restaurants. Don't expect the Ritz but for a clean place to hang your hat after doing your Northern Lights / Blue Lagoon trips it's well worth it. The only thing I would have hopped for was a safety deposit box option either in the room or at the front desk. Other than that it's a nice little place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETERDORMOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days in March, the rooms are nothing fancy but they are clean and have everything you need for a short break as you are not spending too much time in the hotel. The hotel is situated in a good central location, the room we had stayed in 313 was in the annex across the street from the main reception and breakfast room, looking on the church the room was very spacious but the bathroom/wet room was tiny and the hot water did smell very strongly of sulphur.
I would stay again at the hotel if we were to return

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cduncan261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Spent 4 nights at this hotel - excellent location - staff most friendly and helpful, rooms are small but adequate - would certainly not hesitate to stay there again. No hairdryer in the room, but were given one by reception on request. Continental breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
349 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I hesitated about this hotel being a bit far out of town, but in fact its position is even better than being in the centre. it is right opposite the lovely Church (go up the tower!) and near all the good restaurants! the hotel staff are very helpful, and tours are available. the hotel can phone for pick ups etc. the rooms are quite basic but well heated and the showers work well. I had a small room in the basement but the windows were directly on the Church so that was lovely. my parents changed their room on the 2nd day as they prefered twin beds, and the reception were able to do that. the breakfast was buffet with good choice (fruit bread cheese ham fish and pancakes) you could use the coffee machine for free all day. I would come back here and recommend

Room Tip: views on the Church are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Adequate hotel in an ideal location for our 4 day stay in Reykjavik. Rooms are small clean and comfortable, the shower room is tiny. No hair dryer or tea making facilities in rooms but hot drinks are available at any time self service in the dining area. Continental style Breakfast is help yourself! All very nice with lots of choice. The bus picks up and drops off right outside the front door. Little supermarket next door is convenient and centre of town only 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Some of the top floor rooms have limited head room. There are no lifts. hotel is on two sites (oppos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here for three nights to see the Northern lights - managed that on our last night so went home happy.
This is a good basic hotel which ticks all the boxes for a short stay. The location is great - right opposite the church which is a landmark for the town, so no chance of getting lost. We had room 202, a corner room overlooking the Hallgrimskirkja which is absolutely glorious when lit up at night. The room itself had all the necessities, shelves in the wardrobe for storing clothes and plenty of coat hangers. The beds were comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean and tidied regularly during our stay. Although I was a little nervous about flooding the place when showering, in fact the walk in shower was great and didn't get water everywhere unlike some in more expensive hotels I have stayed in.
Breakfast was good - set out on the counter to help yourself, usual continental and plenty of it. One thing we particularly liked was the availability of tea, coffee, hot chocolate juice and water all day and night - nice to be able to have a drink when you came back in from the cold and there were no problems about taking cups and glasses to our room.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, answering any questions we had and able to make a last minute tour booking for us with no problems.
Only minor irritation was the slightly intermittent wifi but it was free and again, I have paid for worse in more expensive hotels!
Would definitely recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation staying here should we return to Iceland.

Room Tip: Room 202 had a great view of the Hallgrimskirkja
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,141 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,156 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
906 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Property: Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing