We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Central Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Just returned from 3 nights staying here.Very good Staff and comfortable room.Excellent Breakfast.What more do you want in a short stay.Every excursion is collected from the Hotel and delivered back.Just the job.I certainly recommend staying here when you visit Reykjavik,and it's just across from the Cathedral which you must visit and sit for a while to enjoy the wonderful Organ Music.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TubalCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

We chose this hotel because the guide book told us it had a fantastic location; it wasn't wrong. It's on a very nice street, which boasts lots of artisan shops, cafes and restaurant, with a vista right down to the harbour. And to top it all, it's next to a huge church which is more or less visable from anywhere in the city centre, so you'll never get lost! The rooms are a little small, yes, but actually we thought it was rather cosy, and yes, the bathroom was tiny but honestly, how much time do you spend in the bathroom? We had a marvellous view from our window which when the sun came up was spectacular. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was brilliant - especially the waffle maker which I used every morning! During the day you can help yourself to tea and coffee or juice. The wifi is also free which for us was a must (I can't stand hotels which charge you a premium!). Overall would highly recommend this hotel and the staff, who will provide you with everything you need. It's only a 10 minute walk from the bus terminal, too.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top of the building have an awesome view from the skylight. Although if it's wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel was booked as port of a Northern light tour. It was great value and location for what we needed. The bathrooms are cosy and the shower is more shower hose on wall with a shower curtain that will stick to you once wet. Ladies with long hair will struggle to wash it. I washed mine at The Blue Lagoon!
The room was clean and more than suited our needs, especially as we only used the room for sleeping. The heating was up quite high on arrival, I turned the radiators down and left bathroom window open over night for ventilation.
Hotel felt very safe. I took our daughter to bed ahead of my husband and was happy to leave the door unlocked.
My 4yr old daughter made herself at home, I assume to her it felt more like a house than a hotel.
The staff were great, allowed my daughter to play receptionist behind the desk. They booked our additional trips and transfers and recommended and booked restaurants for us for dinner.
The breakfast buffet is more than adequate and there are plenty of coffee/breakfast places within walking distance and a supermarket that is open until late also.

Room Tip: We had family room # 308 - 2 x twin and 1 x bunk bed. Back of hotel, nice and quiet. Room # 308 do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on a holiday to search for the aurora borealis which we had the good fortune to see. Hotel ok but room is small and it, and the bathroom especially, are in serious need of refurb so wouldn't have liked to stay much longer. The shower area is really poor, like a 1980's Bates Motel version with one of those horrible clingy shower curtains, and not even a proper base tray, so like a wet room but not intended to be a wet room! No tiling to be seen. Good points are the location, the friendly and helpful staff, the hotel and room are kept clean, the hotel is quiet and good for a good night's sleep. Breakfast is totally adequate but the eating area is pretty small so don't leave it late to get down. Sure the coffee, as is not uncommon, tastes like chicory but you can live with that? Well, like everything else with this average hotel, just for a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giggabyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great central location. Rooms a bit snug, would benefit from a drawer or two & the shower tray was inadequate so the cubicle floor flooded each time. It would have been good to have a lift or at least to make the lack of one more prominent on their website. Having said that the bed was comfy, hot & cold drinks available 24/7 were a bonus & the plentiful breakfasts appreciated. The staff were friendly & extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a view of the famous Hallgrimkirkja church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Avoid this hotel as much as you can. Besides the beautiful facades, the complimentary wireless connection and its glorious location (in front of Hallgrimskirkja, a Reykjavik landmark), it does not worth a penny. My room was tiny, a little bit dirty, and charmless furnished. There was no room enough even for the single bed. As result, accessing the bed was just possible by one of its sides. Bed linen was old as well, and the time-tired colorless towels were at times rotten. Taking a bath was a big adventure - it was the tiniest bathroom I ever had experienced in my life. Don't dare to have a shower after hours as I did, as having a cold bath in the Icelandic wintertime is definitely not a good idea. Tap water smells and tastes badly, and brushing teeth can provoke some nausea. Yes, I do know this smell can be just a testimony of water's high sulfur content, but I did not find anywhere in Iceland (even in the countryside) so disgusting water as I had in Leifur Eiriksson Hotel. Breakfast, which is included, is served in a small, dark and unpleasant basement, besides the small reception counter. Quality and variety are also poor, and the coffee is impossible to drink. The best I could manage was a pumpernickel sandwich with cucumber and a half boiled egg. Afterwards I bought some skyr at a neighborhood grocery to have some Icelandic warmth early in the morning. Last, but certainly not least, staff is not friendly. They are freezing cold, and Icelanders are not like that. Helplessly in love with Iceland, I'm looking forward to visiting Reykjavik again, but certainly not to coming back to Leifur Eiriksson Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alvares-da-Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Whilst this hotel is not the most luxuriously furnished or spacious, it is spotlessly clean, has a comfortable bed, is lovely and warm, has a good shower, very friendly, helpful staff, a nice breakfast and a good atmosphere. Basically everything you need for a nice stay without the luxury extras in other hotels that bump up the price.

One of the things that make this hotel such a nice place to stay is the 24/7 free drinks in the reception/breakfast room. This turns it into a social area where you will almost always find other guests relaxing over a cuppa. The staff who were very helpful whenever we asked them about anything, and very efficient at arranging pick ups and knowing which tours were going ahead or cancelled when the weather got bad.

The location is about as good as it gets, easy walking to many places in Reykjavik and right next to the big church, which means you should never get lost as the church is quite the landmark.

Our room had a TV, phone, shower room (with the typical Reykjavik slightly smelly hot water) and a great view of the church. Bedding was a single duvet each.

Wifi struggled at times but was free which is another very nice touch and which we used a lot.

Breakfast is a nice continental selection of meats/cheese/bread and cereal is also available. There was also a facility to make your own waffle which we wish we had noticed earlier!

The reception area has a good selection of the usual tourist leaflets and maps

If we are in Reykjavik again we will definitely seek out this hotel again as our first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#33 of 55 in Reykjavik
981 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,017 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 55 in Reykjavik
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center Hotel
#40 of 55 in Reykjavik
837 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 55 in Reykjavik
2,380 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavoroustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $168 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik opposite the famous Hallgrims Church. Our hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik and there is free parking opposite our hotel . We offer 47 rooms all with private bathroom facilities and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing