We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We thought we'd been put into care ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Our booking as two friends on a Northern Lights trip had been confirmed for some months as a twin room but when we arrived we were told we were given two singles - worse, they were in the annexe. First impressions were not good as the front door needed painting and the door alongside had graffiti daubed on it. The rooms were tiny - like in a care home or student halls of residence. The smell of drains suggested more problems than just the sulphur in the atmosphere. There was a plug hanging off the wall in the corridor and after a while the overhead lights in one of the rooms did not work. To be fair we were given a kettle, tea and coffee and some crackers to appease us but it was a very disappointing start to a holiday we had been looking forward to. We were moved the next day to a room in the main building. It was under street level and noisy but a definite improvement on the earlier rooms where we had been awoken by the knocking radiators.
The staff were excellent and went out of their way to help us. The breakfast was fine although only one toaster worked and that was for only two of the four slots. Tea and coffee always available was a nice touch.
Location was spot on - near the famous church and walkable into Reykjavik itself.
We had an excellent weekend and were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights and to visit the Blue Lagoon but,come on owners, spend some money - not much needed to create a better impression - or to get toasters in working order.
Would stay elsewhere on a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doilikeholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

The minute I set my foot in the lobby, I has second thoughts about the hotel. There was no elevator, the rooms were too small, and the shower was inadequate.
The breakfast was OK, but the room was too crowded.
The only good thing about the hotel was it location right across the Hallgrimskirkja.
I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annikki2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Cons: No tea/coffee making facilities in room
Nowhere to put suitcase,though room big enough to have a stand
No room safe
Watered-down 'orange juice'. Just orange-coloured water really.
Noisy late night
In an attic room,no view
Pros: Free coffee/tea machine,but in a separate building to us!
Decent breakfast,excluding orange-coloured water!
Good size room,clean and warm with comfortable beds.
Friendly helpful staff
Excellent location.

We took a weekend package with Icelandair,so hotel was included.It says it's 3-star,but we would rate it as 2-star on the room,5-star on location! The whole deal only cost us £650,with a Northern Lights Tour thrown in (yes,we did see the Dancing Ladies!)so we have no complaints !! First time to Iceland-won't be the last,but will probably pay more for central better hotel next time.

Room Tip: Higher room in main building,not annexe,facing fantastic Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The biggest plus is the location, right opposite the Hallgrimskirkja, which always helps you find your way "home". The hotel is split into 2 buildings- the main one with the reception and a big seating area with a coffee dispenser, tea, water and juice free 24hrs. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful.
My room was in the "new building" over the road, 4 floors- no lift. It was nice and quiet, and the free WiFi connection (top floor) worked great! The rooms are basic (it is a 3* hotel after all) and the bathroom on the small side, but very clean!
You can walk downhill for about 10min and you are in the centre/ main shopping street and there are many nice cafes/ restaurants nearby.
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Son_UK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Wonderful location across street from cathedral. Direct walking to Old Harbor and main shopping streets. Rooms are small, basic. Shower is only curtained off, so floor of bathroom gets wet. No elevator so carrying bags up stairs difficult. However staff very helpful with tours and directions. We arrived early so room wasn't ready however we were invited to sit and eat breakfast while the room was prepared. Breakfast buffet which is included, was lovely. Lots of options including make your own waffles, cereal, cheese, hard boiled eggs and herring. Coffee, tea available all the time. Would stay here again mainly for location.

Room Tip: No elevator so ask for room on ground or first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sew0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had mixed feelings about three stars since I think it deserves more based on all the positives. Location is fantastic, right across the street from Hallgrimskirkja Church which you can spot from anywhere in Reykjavik. Very clean, but very small room and bathroom.
Comfortable bed, but location is busy at night so can get a bit noisy from street traffic (people not cars).
The staff is very helpful and I suppose you would get cranky if your guests checked in at 1:30AM. Also, the night person seems to also be the morning person, so cut him some slack since he was still there at 4:30AM for our flight out, handled the FlyBus reservation and wake-up call with no problem. Near some great restaurants, however, the walk from the harbor area to the hotel is up two challenging hills.
WiFi was weak in the room, but excellent for SKYPE in the lobby. Breakfast was decent from European standards with cold cuts, cheese, cereal, toast, coffee, tea, yogurt and hard boiled eggs.

Room Tip: No elevator, ask for help with your bags. Hot water is from natural geysers and contains sulfur, do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeBoston73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed at hotel leifur eiriksson in end of september. Hotel was great the staff were all wonderful always ready to help with any question, room was a bit small, breakfast was just what you needed before heading out on tours. I would definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan-williams3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,023 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#34 of 55 in Reykjavik
983 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 55 in Reykjavik
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center Hotel
#40 of 55 in Reykjavik
842 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#27 of 55 in Reykjavik
2,386 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#12 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavoroustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $168 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik opposite the famous Hallgrims Church. Our hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik and there is free parking opposite our hotel . We offer 47 rooms all with private bathroom facilities and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing