We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location. No frills . Very pleasant and helpful staff, Would return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel as part of an Icelandair package. As the package included flight, hotel for 7 nights and the golden circle tour all at a reasonable price I'm assuming the hotel rate had to be reasonable.
The single room I booked was tiny but had the basics for a base from which to explore the town and take tours every day.
That room turned out to be over the road as the hotel spills over to another building . There is no elevator .
There are excellent restaurants and cafés nearby, the Grayline office is 29 minutes walk away , and next door is a grocery.
This is not a luxury hotel. It is a 3 star , no frills hotel with a good substantial breakfast, free wifi , pleasant and very helpful staff at the front desk, ( especially in relation to tours and airport transfers) and excellent location. As a single traveller, not expecting to spend much time in a hotel room, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,373)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We only booked for one night and I'm glad. Don't get me wrong. It's in an excellent location with walking distance to Laugavegur (shopping street) and heck, the Hallgrímskirkja is right across the street. A lovely sight at night might I add. Apparently they have an annex building across the street from them, which we stayed at. Unfortunately, it was a Saturday night and a bench happened to be directly in front of our window, so some chatty passerbyer would take comfort on that and chitter chatter away.
The room is small. Don't get me wrong, I've been in smaller rooms, but those were catered to be no frills. I can be use to the small room and the tiny old school tv on the desk, but I couldn't bare the bathroom. It was tight. There was no shower inlet area, but a curtain that sections off a corner (right up against the sink, which is also very small) when in use. I was trying to not let my body touch the curtain, but that proved to be failure. Also when showering, I was getting hits of sewage like smells. Was it emanating from the drain? Definitely. Well, at least I thought so until our tour guide the next day said that sometimes, some places, when the hot water is on, it smells a little bad because of how the water is heat up. We dropped off our luggage at the front desk because we thought we couldn't take it with us on our tour (and we were changing hotel locations). They do and it is probably best you do. All the tours we took were on the big coach bus and it would have accommodated us. That and the fact that their version of holding your luggage is leaving next to the staircase right in front of the doorway area. I'm from NY, so naturally I was skeptical and hesitant. But like I said, you can bring it with you on the tours.
They have complimentary breakfast. They try to replenish stock of food, but dishware/cups are sparse (alongside with seating). It's not fancy, but for complimentary, I think their offerings are pretty decent. They have sliced boiled eggs, yogurt, cheese, cold cuts of meats, toasts, fruits, oj, etc.
When we checked in at night we had a nice front desk person, but in the morning when asking about the luggage hold, another man was not as nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloudiedays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Don't be fooled by the title...this is definitely not a hotel. It is a guesthouse and a very average one at that. Reception is a booth and when we arrived it was manned by a monosyllabic staff member who could barely spare us the breath to explain anything. The room, up some fairly well worn stairs was small and musty with an excuse for a bathroom which had the toilet practically in the shower. The drains all smelt and even though it may have been due to geo-thermal water, other hotels did not have this same problem in their bathrooms. Breakfast was minimal but adequate in an uncomfortably small space and with a car to park, it offered few solutions. When we asked a local what this "hotel" was like before we checked in, his response was, "I think it is very well located." That says it all!

Room Tip: There may have been bigger and better rooms. Ask a few questions before you commit.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel room is small, ESP the bathroom. Basic and clean, very good location with the cathedral right outside of the doorstep. No lift, need to carry your luggage up the stairs, so pack light! Bathroom is tiny, no room to put toiletries. Recommended for budget travel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Dindin-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is situated in a fantastic location, directly across the street from the beautiful Hallgrímskirkja above Reykjavik. The rooms are quite small, but clean and well kept and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is nothing special, but adequate to keep hunger at bay before you set off for a day exploring.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a beautiful view of the Hallgrímskirkja
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny_Seagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

No frills hotel, warm and clean. Breakfast was selection of cereal, bread/biscuits with choice of cooked meats or cheese, waffle plus orange squash/coffee/tea from machine. Next to tallest landmark in city (Lutheran church - impressive building) so easy to identify route back from restaurants and buildings throughout city - uphill !!!!!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location to explore the city. Close to main shopping and restaurant areas. The hotel was fine. Helpful staff who assisted with transfers and excursions. The room was fine. Clean and warm. Breakfast was okay nothing elaborate. Tea/coffee available at any time. Hotel has 4 floors but no lift or bell person. We were on the top floor which had a good view of the Lutheran church.

Room Tip: Depending on level of fitness choose lower floors. Upper floors for view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
941 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#40 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,680 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,234 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#37 of 54 in Reykjavik
869 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $149 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing