We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in iceland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel in iceland”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Mixed reviews on this hotel before going but we , a party of 4 were delighted. Yes rooms were small as were the showers but we were there to see the country not to stay all day in the room. The staff were extremely helpful and so kind. They booked our trips which were run like clockwork and we were picked up and dropped of at hotel. There was tea coffee etc on offer all day and night at no cost and breakfast was the usual cereal toast waffles meats cheeses juice and teas and coffees which were always kept replenished. The hotel was in a perfect position. Excellent

Room Tip: Ask at reception for room looking on to church . It is lit up at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    582
    234
    70
    37
See reviews for
159
670
141
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in the Annexe part of this hotel which is across the road from the main hotel, it was basic, clean and a good shower. the hotel is easy to find as it's across from the Hallgrimschurch which can be seen from anywhere down town, plenty of meats, cheeses and freshly made waffles on offer every morning for breakfast, staff were very friendly also

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuzzbubble_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Clean place to sleep - Fine service - Beds ok - Great location close to city center were you find many restaurants, shops and transit options.
Wifi were a bit unstable and not the fastestest , but free. Breakfast simple and basic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Leifur Eiriksson last week. No frills, but clean comfortable and everything worked. Wifi was free and fast (Skype worked perfectly for voice). Food was just breakfast, but there was no portion control. Tea and coffee are available from reception.

The best thing is the location: directly opposite the Hallgrimskirkja, and 3 minutes walk from Laugavegur, the main shopping/eating/nightlife street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

First off, this is a great location - a stones throw from the steps of the big church - so very easy to find as you just head for the church which you can always find from wherever you are!

The rooms are rather small - but then it's in a city centre. However, they were clean. Could have perhaps done with a few hooks and shelves to put items on.

The shower was fine (but take your own gel as none supplied - only handwash).
Staff were very helpful - giving us directions and tips on what to see, and also arranging an early breakfast (6am) for our transfer back to the airport.

It's only a small city centre, so unless you're on the outskirts, you'll never be too far from anything. But the hotel's location was perfect - in a quiet area at night, but a few yards from the main shopping areas and a short walk (10 mins) to the harbour area.

Free Wi-fi is throughout the hotel - but did seem to lose signal sometimes depending on where we were.

If you're here for sight seeing, and are looking for a functional room for sleeping in, without all the frills (and therefore price!) then I would recommend this place.

Breakfast was the usual self service buffet style; It was fine, but not outstanding.
Free tea and coffee is available 24hr in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the church for a nice outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Leif Eiriksson before we joined our hiking tour and after we returned. Our visits were like night and day. The first room was on the 4th floor and had half of a ceiling so you had to stoop over to get into bed, and had issues with lights and tv. The second room was on the second floor and looked out over the church and Leif statue, it was quite lovely, everything worked. There is a nice morning buffet. And the staff was helpful. They even offered to take the luggage up the stairs (no lift). If you book here just make sure that you stay on the second or third floor and ask for church view.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Overall a good experience at this hotel. This is a very basic, no frills, no extra amenities type of hotel, but if you set your expectations correctly, this hotel is still a very good choice. The price was reasonable. The rooms were very basic, but clean. The bathrooms were small, but efficient. The wifi worked great everywhere in the hotel. The breakfast was tasty. The staff spoke fluent English, and were very kind and accommodating. The location was excellent, right across the street from the Hallgrimskirkja, within a few blocks of many restaurants and shops, and there was a grocery store across the street. The only real drawback for our party, was that there wasn't an elevator, and we had a lot of luggage! Aside from that, we had a pleasant time, and would stay there again - just for the location and price if nothing else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierette67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#24 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#37 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Property: Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing