We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location tiny room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location tiny room”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The location was fantastic. I easily walked to/from the bus station and to/from the pier. There was no AC, but it did get cold at night (and during the day) so that it was not needed. There is a heater. I was not in the main hotel, but in their building across the street. I stayed in a single room with a twin bed, which was tiny. There are no black out curtains. I was warned before hand and did not think it was a big deal at all. If you are the type that needs total darkness to sleep, bring an eye cover. No decor and is extremely plain. No frills. No elevator. Grocery store next door. Restaurants are about a 10 minute walk. Pretty good free breakfast in the morning. Cereal and some fruits.

Room Tip: I stayed in 411. Tiny. Single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VigorousVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    584
    236
    70
    37
See reviews for
161
672
143
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Having spent a full week here I have only one negative thing to say: the room I stayed in (room 309) was very small. As I am a tall man (2 meters), it all felt a bit cramped.

Other than that I have nothing but praise for this hotel. The staff is very friendly and professional The breakfast is great, as is the free coffee 24/7. The wifi is free, works in the room and worked very, very well. One of the best hotel wifis I every experienced.

The bathroom was nice, although the shower curtain sticks to your body when you take a shower. Also, the water slightly tasted like sulphur, but I guess you should not go to Iceland in the first place it that's a problem for you :-)

On the second floor is a small lobby/reading room where you can sit down, have some coffee, work on your laptop, have a conversation etc. A nice touch.

On top of all that the hotel is in an excellent location in Reykjavik. Immediately in front of the Hallgrimskirkja and just around the corner are the streets of downtown Reykjavik.

I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prasenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Leif Erickson for 3 days last week. I would like to start off by saying that the staff Is outstanding as is the location. The rooms are typical of many rooms in European hotels or inns and our room did have a private shower and small balcony. A warning though to travelers with disabilities. Despite our request for a first floor room, we were booked into a 2nd floor room. I do not know where the snafu occurred (by the hotel or Nordic Visitors) but we had to haul my disabled husband and LOTS of medical supplies down about 5 steps (which we were told by Nordic Visitors) but also up about 8-10 steps. The staff was wonderful and helped us but those steps and the raised bathroom/shower could be a barrier. Overall a lovely experience but handicapped travelers should confirm that their room is specifically located by room number on the first floor before they book.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed just one night in this hotel and it was a very good option: it is very central, there are parking spaces nearby, the room was small but comfortable, breakfast was very good. The drawback is that there is no lift, so it is quite heavy to lift the suitcase to the 3rd floor if your room is upstairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moosefr87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our room was a double in the annex, which is across the street from the main hotel. The rooms are very small (think student dorm room) but clean. The hotel is centrally located and you can walk everywhere. Breakfast is included and is very basic but adequate. The breakfast is small and you may have to wait for a table, so give yourself some extra time if you are checking out or have an excursion planned. The girl at the front desk is very friendly and takes care of everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philly413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here over new year in 2012. The rooms are basic but clean, the bathroom was small more like an en suite. The shower only had a curtain that went all the way around it to stop water going on the floor, it stuck to you while you were in the shower- not pleasant. The staff were very helpful and we stayed in the main hotel. The breakfast was basic but nice, cereals, waffle maker, toast etc very handy when you are going out early on trips. There is also complimentary hot drinks & juice for guests in the breakfast area which saves you money & having to go to a cafe. Reykjavik is fairly expensive to eat out, but the standards of food are very good. Id recommend paying to go Hallgrimskirkja church, the views over Reykjavik are wonderfull. We went on trips to the blue lagoon, Thingvellir national park & northern lights all organised through Reykjavik excursions. I would definitely recommend booking the northern lights tour through them as if you don't see them on your first trip they give you the second one free! Unfortunately we did not see them but you can't guarantee the weather. This hotel was prime location for fireworks on New Year's Eve, all the locals bring their own fireworks to the square opposite the hotel and set them off- fantastic to see!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Mill01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect. You can walk a good share of Reykjavik from here. The breakfast was good and the all the time coffee a real treat. We were with a tour, so no choice of hotel or room. We lucked out and got a second floor room in the "across" the street part of the hotel. The members of our group that got ground floor and top floor rooms were very unhappy. The top floor rooms, you couldn't stand up fully in the whole room. The ground floor rooms are below ground so your view is of feet. We had a perfect view of the Hallgrimskirkja from our window. I don't know what the tour paid, so don't know if it was value for the money. If you're after a great location and only use the room to sleep, this would work. And yes, the bathroom makes you believe it was designed for elves!

Room Tip: Avoid the top and bottom floors in the adjacent building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,140 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,152 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
905 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Property: Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
Address: Skolavoerdustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing